AUSW vs INDW: India Women wins 3rd ODI by 2 wickets, puts ends to Australia Women winning streak

With this win, India Women earn crucial 2 Points in the Multi-Format Series, Australia Women streak of 26th straight ODI wins comes to an end.

The India Women have done it – ended Australia Women winning streak in ODIs of 26th consecutive wins as they emerge victorious in the final ODI of the 3 Match ODI Series by 2 wickets at the Great Barrier Reef Arena in Mackay on Sunday, September 26.

India Women had faced defeat in the previous two matches, 1st ODI by 9 wickets and 2nd ODI by 5 wickets – lost by a narrow margin as it was a last-ball decisive. Mithali Raj and Co. today won the 3rd One Day International against the Aussie in the Commonwealth Bank Series between Australia and India. However, the Aussie leads 4 – 2 Points Wise in the Multi-Format Series.

Playing XI for Australia Women

Playing XI for India Women

Changes in Playing XIFor Aussie: Stella Campbell makes her International Debut, Rachael Haynes IN after missing 2nd ODI due to Injury, and Annabel Sutherland IN. For India: Sneh Rana IN for Poonam Yadav.

Australia Women won the toss and decided to bat.

Jhulan Goswami strikes for India as Australia Women lost two wickets in same over as Rachael Haynes goes for 13 (28) caught by Shafali Verma and Australian Skipper Meg Lanning Out for a Duck as wicket-keeper Richa Ghosh dives and takes a sharp catch.

Australia Women lost two wickets in middle as Alyssa Healy and Ellyse Perry walked back to the pavilion. Three crucial innings for Australia Women made by Beth Mooney 52 off 64 deliveries, Ashleigh Gardner’s 67 (off 62), and Tahlia McGrath’s 47 (off 32) to put 264/9 on board.

For Indian Bowlers, Jhulan Goswami and Pooja Vastrakar picked 3 wickets each. Sneh Rana got 1 wicket. Whereas, two run-outs by Rajeshwari Gayakwad.

2nd Innings – India Women Chasing 265 Runs

Having lost a wicket – in form of Smriti Mandhana 22 (25), India 59/1 (10.3 overs), after a good start of a 50-Runs partnership between the openers.

India Women found itself in safe hands as youngsters Shafali Verma and Yastika Bhatia made a 100-Runs partnership, both scoring their Maiden Half-Century.

However, after that India lost wickets quite frequently as Shafali, Yastika, and Richa Ghosh got out. India was 180/4.

It was in the end after Sneh Rana’s powerful hitting India Women needed 4 Runs in 6 Balls. Well, call it fate, Jhulan Goswami hits the winning shot as this time she takes her Team to victory.

As a result, India Women wins by 2 wickets and ends Australia Women unbeaten 26th straight ODI wins.

However, the next encounter in the Multi-Format Series between AUS W VS IND W will be the One-off Day/Night Test Match from 30th Sep – 3rd Oct 2021 at the Metricon Stadium in Gold Coast. Meanwhile, it will be India Women Cricket Team’s 1st-ever pink-ball Test Match.

Subscribe to our newsletter
Get your daily dose of Cricket, Football, Tennis & other favorite sports with handpicked stories delivered directly to your inbox.
You can unsubscribe at any time

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More