Bangladesh does the improbable; defeat world champions New Zealand by 8 wickets

Bangladesh clinched a historic 8-wicket victory over New Zealand in the first Test of the two-match series.

Ebadot Hossain took a career-best 6-46 as Bangladesh beat World Test Champions New Zealand by eight wickets in the first Test of the two-game series on Wednesday, capturing their first-ever win in New Zealand.

Ebadot broke down New Zealand’s resistance as the home team was dismissed in its second innings for 169, its lowest score against Bangladesh. The visitors, then, chased down the lowly 40-run target with eight wickets to spare.

It was only Bangladesh’s sixth Test win away from home and its first Test win over a team ranked in the top-5: New Zealand is ranked No. 2 and Bangladesh No. 9. The result also brought to an end BlackCaps’ unbeaten streak in its last 17 Tests at home.

The possibility of any stern resistance by New Zealand, marshaled around veteran batsman Ross Taylor who was 37 not out when play began, quickly dissolved, thanks to Ebadot.

The tall right-armer, who snaps to attention and salutes when he takes a wicket, saluted twice when he bowled Taylor for 40. Then he dismissed Kyle Jamieson to leave New Zealand 160-7. Shoriful pulled off a brilliant diving catch at mid-wicket to complete the second dismissal.

Taskin Ahmed then stepped in to help wrap up the New Zealand innings. He removed the other overnight batsman, allrounder Rachin Ravindra, for 16. Ravindra had edged a delivery from Ebadot between first slip and the wicketkeeper but this time the edge carried finer to keeper Liton Das. Taskin bowled Tim Southee (0) and Mehidy Hasan Miraz finished it off with the wicket of Trent Boult, who was brilliantly caught at deep mid-wicket by the substitute Taijul Islam.

A lowly target of 42 was set. They took their time to chase the target in 16.5 overs. Shadman Islam and Najmul Hossain Shanto were dismissed caught behind, with Ross Taylor taking a superb catch off Shanto’s outside edge. Mushfiqur Rahman, Bangladesh’s highest run-getter in Tests and their most experienced cricketer, scored the winning runs, with captain Mominul Haque at the other end.

Subscribe to our newsletter
Get your daily dose of Cricket, Football, Tennis & other favorite sports with handpicked stories delivered directly to your inbox.
You can unsubscribe at any time

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More