BCCI announces squad to face Australia in WTC Final

BCCI on 25th April announced the Indian squad to face Australia in WTC Final. The WTC Final will take place from 7th June to 11th June in England.

BCCI announced India’s test squad to face Australia in WTC Final. The WTC Final will take place from 7th June to 11th June in England. 12th June will be kept as the reserve day if rain washes out any day of play. The venue for World Test Championship Final is The Oval in London.

India’s Test squad WTC final:

Rohit Sharma (Captain), Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, K L Rahul, KS Bharat (wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Shardul Thakur, Mohd. Shami, Mohd. Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Jaydev Unadkat.



Ajinkya Rahane

The former vice-captain of the Indian test team has been named in the squad on the back of some incredible performances in the ongoing season of the Indian Premier League. Rahane for Chennai SSuper Kings has scored 209 runs. The shocking part is that the former red-ball player has been hitting these runs at a strike rate of 199.05.

Australia Test squad for WTC final:

Pat Cummins (C), Scott Boland, Alex Carey, Cameron Green, Marcus Harris, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Marsh, Todd Murphy, Matthew Renshaw, Steve Smith (VC), Mitchell Starc, David Warner.

Wicket-keeper for WTC Final

With Rishabh Pant out for foreseeable future, India had shown trust in young KS Bharat in the Border Gavaskar Trophy to for wicket-keeping duties. After failing with the bat in the series his spot in the squad became questionable. Bharat scored 101 runs in 6 innings at an average of 20.2.

With Shubman Gill and KL Rahul in the squad, there could also be a possibility that KL Rahul slots into the middle order and take the wicket-keeping duties.

Keep checking Sports Digest for more updates.

Also Read: How much impact does bowling economy have in T20s?

 “Get more sports news, cricket news, and football updates, log on to sportsdigest.in. Follow us on Facebook or Twitter and Subscribe to our YouTube Channel.”

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More