Charlotte Hornets Team Profile and Analysis – Team Eastern Conference: Southeast Division

Know everything about the NBA team of the Charlotte Hornets and how it is a strong part of the Team Eastern Conference: Southeast Division.

The National Basketball Association (NBA) is the professional basketball league based in North America. It constitutes of two conferences: 

  • Eastern Conference 
  • Western Conference.

Each conference is divided into three divisions and constitutes of 15 teams.


The divisions of Eastern Conference area as follows:  

  • Central Division
  • Southeast Division
  • Atlantic Division

One of the five southeast divisions of Eastern Conference is Charlotte Hornets. It is based in Charlotte in North Carolina.

The Eastern Conference of National Basketball Association (NBA comprises of 15 teams which are as follows: 

  • Boston Celtics *- Atlantic
  • Brooklyn Nets- Atlantic
  • Milwaukee Bucks *- Central
  • Philadelphia 76ers- Atlantic
  • Cleveland Cavaliers- Central
  • New York Knicks- Atlantic
  • Indiana Pacers- Central
  • Miami Heat *- Southeast Division
  • Atlanta Hawks- Southeast Division
  • Chicago Bulls- Central
  • Toronto Raptors- Atlantic
  • Washington Wizards- Southeast Division
  • Orlando Magic- Southeast Division
  • Charlotte Hornets- Southeast Division
  • Detroit Pistons- Central

Southeast divisions of Eastern Conference are: 

  • Atlanta Hawks
  • Charlotte Hornets
  • Miami Heat *
  • Orlando Magic
  • Washington Wizards.

Charlotte Hornets, American basketball team is based in Charlotte, North Carolina. This team plays as Southeast Division of Eastern Conference of NBA.

Charlotte Hornets:

The said team was founded in 1988 and owned by George Shinn. The arena of this team was Charlotte Coliseum from 1988-2002 and 2004-05 and is Spectrum Center in Uptown Charlotte from 2005-present. This is from where it plays home games. The recent mascot of team is Hugo the Hornet. 

In 2002, Hornets was moved to New Orleans by Shinn and got renamed to New Orleans. The team joined NBA in 2004 as NBA’s 30th franchise. For 2004-05 NBA season, Hornets returned to Charlotte as part of an agreement with NBA and was called as Charlotte Bobcats. Bobcats constituted of various talented players such as Rookie of the Year center – forward Gerald Wallace and forward Emeka Okafor. Robert L. Johnson became the owner of this team in 2004.

Michael Jordan, an American professional basketball player, became owner and general manager of said team in 2006. In 2014-15 season, they got rebranded to Charlotte Hornets. From 2014 to till date, this team is officially called Charlotte Hornets. The team returned to the playoffs in 2015–16 where it failed to pass the first round of the postseason. 

The team colors of Hornets are: 

  • Teal
  • Dark Purple
  • Gray
  • White

The lists of five seasons completed by the Hornets are as follow:

  • 2017-18
  • 2018-19
  • 2019-20
  • 2020-21
  • 2021-22

The basic details of this team are as follows:

“Get more sports news, cricket news, and football updates, log on to Follow us on Facebook or Twitter and Subscribe to our YouTube Channel.”

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More