IND vs WI T20 squad: 6 changes from the last squad

The Indian squad for the T20I series against West Indies was announced yesterday. Here is a look at changes in the squad from the last series in February.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced the squad for the five T20I matches against the West Indies. This was the first squad announced by the newly appointed Ajit Agarkar-led selection committee. The five-match T20I series will begin on the 3rd of August and conclude by the 13th of August. India last played a T20I match on the 1st of February in the home series against New Zealand. Here are the six changes that were made to the squad that last played against New Zealand.


  • Yashasvi Jaiswal


  • Tilak Varma
  • Avesh Khan
  • Axar Patel
  • Sanju Samson
  • Ravi Bishnoi

Youngsters Yashasvi Jaiswal and Tilak Varma received their maiden T20I call-ups to the national side. Jaiswal impressed many with his performances for Rajasthan Royals in the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2023. The 21-year-old opening batter scored 625 runs in IPL 2023, the most by any uncapped player in history. Jaiswal also received his maiden call-up to the test squad. Varma was the part of Mumbai Indians team in the last two seasons where he played in the middle order. In IPL 2022, he played 14 matches and scored 397 runs at a strike rate of 131.02. His breakthrough season came this year when he played 11 matches and scored 343 runs at a strike rate of 164.11. 

Avesh Khan last played a T20I game against Hong Kong in August 2022 during the group stage of the Asia Cup. He played nine matches this season where he picked up eight wickets. Star all-rounder, Axar Patel has been added to the squad after he missed the T20I series due to his wedding. Patel was one of the very few positives from the Delhi Capitals team. The spin-bowling all-rounder scored 283 at a strike rate of 139.41 and picked up 11 wickets with the ball in hand with an economy of 7.19.

Wicketkeeper batter Sanju Samson has also been added to the squad. In a team with Shubman Gill and Jaiswal, Ishan Kishan might not find a place at the top of the order easily so Samson could be in the playing XI before the left-handed opening batter. Young spinner Ravi Bishnoi has also been added to the squad. Bishnoi has played 10 T20I matches for India so far. He last played against Pakistan in the Super Four match of the Asia Cup in September 2022. In the 10 matches he has played, he has picked up 16 wickets while conceding runs at an economy of just 7.09 RPO.


  • Rahul Tripathi
  • Deepak Hooda
  • Prithvi Shaw
  • Jitesh Sharma
  • Washington Sundar
  • Shivam Mavi

Rahul Tripathi and Deepak Hooda did not impress with their performances in the series against New Zealand and the duo failed to perform in the IPL as well. Prithvi Shaw and Jitesh Sharma did not get a game in the last series. Shaw had an ordinary IPL season and was even dropped from the DC team for his below-par performances. On the other hand, Jitesh had another great season as a finisher in the IPL with the Punjab Kings. He scored 309 runs at a strike rate of 156.06 this season. Washington Sundar was impressive against New Zealand but he has been out of action for some time due to an injury he suffered during the IPL. Pacer Shivam Mavi after picking up four wickets in his debut match in T20I has failed to live up to expectations. He did not play a single game this year during the IPL.

India’s T20I squad vs West Indies

Hardik Pandya (C), Ishan Kishan (wk), Shubman Gill, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Tilak Varma, Surya Kumar Yadav (VC), Sanju Samson (wk), Axar Patel, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravi Bishnoi, Arshdeep Singh, Umran Malik, Avesh Khan, Mukesh Kumar

Also Read: World Cup 2023: How does the schedule benefit India?

“Get more sports news, cricket news, and football updates, log on to Follow us on Facebook or Twitter and Subscribe to our YouTube Channel.”

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More