India faces tough challenge as South Africa elects to bat in Dean Elgar’s farewell test

In the final Test match of Dean Elgar’s career, South Africa chose to bat against India at Newlands Cricket Ground. India made key changes in their lineup, aiming to avoid a series sweep, while South Africa introduced new players due to injuries.

In Dean Elgar’s farewell Test match, South Africa’s captain won the toss and elected to bat against India in the second and final Test at Newlands Cricket Ground on Wednesday.

India, aiming to turn the series around after a defeat in the first Test, made two crucial changes to their playing eleven. Ravindra Jadeja, returning after an upper back spasm, replaced Ravichandran Ashwin, providing depth to India’s batting lineup and adding left-arm spin to complement their pace attack. Additionally, pacer Mukesh Kumar came in for Shardul Thakur.

Addressing the decision, Indian captain Rohit Sharma mentioned, “We understand the challenge of batting first on that pitch, but there will be enough assistance for the seamers. We’re focused on capitalizing on those conditions.”


South Africa, in Elgar’s final Test match, introduced debutant batter Tristan Stubbs due to Temba Bavuma’s left hamstring injury. They also included pacer Lungi Ngidi and left-arm spinner Keshav Maharaj, replacing injured Gerald Coetzee and Keegan Petersen respectively.

Commenting on the match, Elgar noted, “Starting well is going to be key against this Indian side. We’re in a good position and aiming to make the most of it.”

Playing XIs


Rohit Sharma (captain), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul (wicket-keeper), Ravindra Jadeja, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj, Prasidh Krishna, Mukesh Kumar

South Africa:

Dean Elgar (captain), Aiden Markram, Tony de Zorzi, Tristan Stubbs, David Bedingham, Kyle Verreynne (wicket-keeper), Marco Jansen, Keshav Maharaj, Kagiso Rabada, Nandre Burger, Lungi Ngidi


This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More