India-Sri Lanka ODI series to start on July 13, T20I series from July 21 according to Reports

The limited over series against Sri Lanka will see many fringe players in the mix with Shikhar Dhawan, Hardik Pandya and Shreyas Iyer in fore front to lead the side.

The limited over series against Sri Lanka is scheduled from July 13 and will end on July 25 according to broadcaster Sony Network. Sony Tweeted on Monday about the dates. The schedule for the three-match ODI series and three-match T20I series will be played with many uncapped players and seniors who missed the bus to England’s tour.

The three ODIs will be played on July 13, 16, and 18, and the T20I series will kick off from July 21, with second and third T20I’s on July 23 and 25 respectively. India will tour Sri Lanka for this series, but the venues aren’t finalized yet.

Former India captain and batting legend, current National Cricket Academy (NCA) chief Rahul Dravid will coach the Indian limited-overs team. This will be Dravid’s second stint with the Indian team. Earlier, he had worked with the team as a batting consultant during the England tour in 2014.

The limited over series against Sri Lanka will see many fringe players in the mix with Shikhar Dhawan, Hardik Pandya, and Shreyas Iyer at the forefront to lead the side.

Sony Sports announced the schedule via social media.
“Indian waves will crash against the Sri Lankan shore with #JeetneKiZid,” the channel tweeted with the schedule.

Speaking to ANI, a BCCI official in the know of developments confirmed that the NCA head would be leading the team as the trio of Ravi Shastri, Bharat Arun, and Vikram Rathour will be in England with the Test team.

“The Team India coaching staff will be in the UK and it is best that the young team is guided by Dravid as he has already worked with almost all of India ‘A’ boys. The comfort the youngsters share with him will be an added advantage,” the official said.

A star-studded Team India will be playing World Test Championship (WTC) Final against New Zealand in England (June 18-22) followed by a five-match Test series against hosts England in August – September. Another Indian team will take the field in the limited-overs format against Sri Lanka in July consisting of a few senior playing who just missed the bus to the England tour and few uncapped players. The previous instance where one team took two fields was way back in 1998. One Indian team played in the Commonwealth Games and another one competed in the Sahara Cup in Toronto.

(with inputs from ANI and NDTV Sports)

Subscribe to our newsletter
Get your daily dose of Cricket, Football, Tennis & other favorite sports with handpicked stories delivered directly to your inbox.
You can unsubscribe at any time

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More