India’s sports legends honored at National Sports Awards 2023 ceremony

National Sports Awards 2023 saw exemplary athletes like Chirag Shetty, Satwiksairaj Rankireddy, and others being acknowledged for their outstanding achievements in various sports disciplines.

President Droupadi Murmu presided over the grand ceremony of the National Sports Awards 2023 held at the Rashtrapati Bhawan, where India’s exceptional athletes were honored for their remarkable achievements.

Star shuttlers Chirag Shetty and Satwiksairaj Rankireddy received the prestigious Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna award for their stellar performances in 2023. Despite their absence at the ceremony due to participation in the Malaysia Open Super 1000 badminton tournament, the duo was acknowledged for their historic feats. They clinched India’s first badminton gold at the Asian Games, triumphed at the Asian Championships, and secured the Indonesia Open Super 1000 title during the year.

The ceremony, usually scheduled for August 29 to commemorate hockey legend Major Dhyan Chand’s birth anniversary, was postponed to this year due to the Asian Games held in Hangzhou.


A total of 26 athletes and para-athletes were bestowed with the Arjuna Awards for their exceptional contributions to sports in 2023.

Renowned fast-bowler Mohammed Shami, pivotal in India’s ODI World Cup campaign with 24 wickets in seven games and currently recuperating from an ankle injury, was present to receive the honor.

Newly crowned chess Grandmaster R. Vaishali was recognized for her outstanding achievements in the sport.

Squash player Harinder Pal Singh Sandhu joined the esteemed league, becoming the 11th squash player to be honored with the Arjuna Award. His triumphs at the 2023 Asian Games included two gold medals in the men’s team event and mixed doubles alongside Dipika Pallikal. The duo also secured gold at the inaugural Asian Mixed Doubles Championships.

Young wrestler Antim Panghal was lauded for her accomplishments, bagging gold in the Junior World Championship (53 kg Women’s Wrestling) in Amman, Jordan, and securing medals at the Senior World Wrestling Championship and Asian Games in Hangzhou, China.

Notable awardees also include para-archer Sheetal Devi, kabaddi player Pawan Sehrawat, boxer Mohammad Hussamuddin, shooter Esha Singh, among others, recognized for their excellence in respective sports.

The National Sports Awards 2023 recognized outstanding sportspersons across various categories, celebrating their dedication, skill, and contributions to the world of sports.


This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More