IPL Records and Statistics – Other Individual Records for Most Runs as Captain

Read to know everything about the individual records that were made in the IPL matches for the most runs as captain. Learn more about it.

The IPL is one of the most significant sporting events in world cricket. This tournament is perhaps the most prominent among the public due to its batting eruptions and bowling wizards. The IPL has witnessed some of the best skipper performances, where the skipper truly directed the team with all of his talent and dedication. 

A skipper’s role in directing from the forefront is much more remarkable, particularly in a stressful environment like the IPL. Over the last thirteen years, the tournament has seen some of the best hitters lead their IPL teams. Some captains have let their bats do the correct thing and have demonstrated power structure in their performance levels, which have saved the team on plenty of occasions. In this article, we will look at the Top 5 captains who scored the most runs for their teams in the Indian Premier League.

Individual Records for Most Runs as a Captain in the IPL matches:


Rank Runs Player Innings Teams Period
1 4,994 Virat Kohli 142 RCB 2011- 2021
2 4,660 MS Dhoni 196 CSK 2008- 2023
3 3,986 Rohit Sharma 158 MI 2013 – 2023
4 3,518 Gautam Gambhir 127 KKR/DC 2009 – 2018
5 3,270 David Warner  82 DD/SRH 2013 – 2021
  • Virat Kohli

Virat Kohli is widely regarded as one of the most consistent performers in the Indian Premier League historical record. Kohli not only has the most runs in IPL history, also well as has the highest runs as a skipper. His 4994 runs from 142 games for Royal Challengers Bangalore are the highest for any Indian premier league skipper. Kohli has been a prominent member of RCB since his IPL captaincy breakout performance in 2011. The batting master was at the top of his game during the 2016 IPL season, going to score 973 runs. But besides his impressive batting numbers, Virat has failed to capture the Indian Premier League trophy in the last thirteen years.

  • MS Dhoni 

MS Dhoni has undoubtedly altered India’s cricketing outlook. Dhoni, undoubtedly the world’s greatest finisher, has played for the Chennai Super Kings since the IPL’s commencement in 2008, before moving on to perform for Rising Pune SuperGiant for a season or two. Dhoni has managed to score 4660 runs in 196 IPL innings as skipper. Not only that, but he is one of the most prolific skippers in Indian Premier League history. The seasoned official has aided the Chennai Super Kings win the league three times, in 2010, 2011, and 2018. His optimistic personality and willingness to allow players to thrive in trying situations have been some of his trademarks throughout his tenure as the skipper of CSK.

  • Rohit Sharma

He has managed to score 3986 runs as captain in 158 league innings. Rohit Sharma captained Mumbai Indians to four Indian premier league titles under his able leadership. He is one of the few batsmen who can win a game for his team on his own. In his international cricket career, the Indian batting heavyweight has managed to walk the discussions on countless events. Rohit Sharma joined the IPL in 2008 after the Hyderabad-based franchise purchased him at a standard appraised value. With some wracking innings, they then left an indelible mark in the world cricket arena. Later, in the Indian Premier League 2011, the Mumbai Indians decided to put their trust in Sharma, which paid off handsomely.

  • Gautam Gambhir

Gautam Gambhir announced his retirement from international cricket in December 2018. The Delhi-born batsman had a prolific Indian premier league career as a batsman and skipper for the Kolkata Knight Riders. After being signed by KKR in the IPL in 2011, it didn’t take that long for Gambhir to lead the Kolkata Knight Riders to victory in 2012. Gautam’s aggressive approach was a key component in KKR’s successful campaigns in 2012 and 2014. 

In the 2012 IPL season, Gambhir managed to score the most runs of any skipper and finished with the highest runs (590) after Chris Gayle. The southpaw scored 3518 runs as a skipper in his complete Indian Premier League career, placing him fourth on the list of most runs as a skipper in the Indian Premier League historical record.

  • David Warner

As Skipper of his IPL team, Warner has frequently been responsible for the majority of the scoring. In some ways, the southpaw has helped lead Hyderabad’s top-order runs. Warner has ended up scoring 3270 runs in 82 IPL innings as captain of SRH until 2020. In the process, he has won the Orange Cap award for the most runs in a season three times in the IPL. In this list, Warner is ranked fifth among captains with the most runs in Indian Premier League history.

Also Read: IPL Records and Statistics – Individual Wicket Keeping Records for Most Career Stumpings (sportsdigest.in)

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More