IPL Records – Individual Batting Records: Most Runs in a Series

Get to know about the individual batting records that are made in the IPL by scoring the most runs in a particular series. Read to know more.

Initially, there was no room for bowlers in the Indian Premier League; instead, it was built on the artillery fire of batsmen. King Kohli holds the record for most runs scored in IPL history. He showed up in 223 IPL games and managed to score 6624 runs, which he shared with Shikhar Dhawan (6244) and Rohit Sharma (5879). The Indian team’s top-order batters have been playing together for several years. Batters significantly contribute and have glory in the T20 format, whereas few bowlers have emerged due to the strong impact of batsmen. The IPL has been graced with many batters who have woven the tournament’s influence all over the world.

When it comes to the greatest IPL legionaries, no one can overlook ‘Christopher Henry Gayle,’ who hit a historic tonne 175*(66), with a humongous strike rate of 265, accompanied by Brendon McCullum’s 158*(73) and AB de Villiers’ 133*. (59). Throughout their IPL careers, the trio have been impressive. However, the orange cap winners have a higher level of stability in a season than these vibrant ones.

In this article we will take a look at the top 5 batsmen who have scored maximum runs in a series:


  • Virat Kohli

Virat Kohli firmly established himself at the top of the list by scoring the most runs in a single season. In the 2016 edition of the IPL, he scored a record 973 runs in 16 matches. He also set a record with four tonnes in that season; no one had shown such dominance with the bat in the IPL before him. He assisted RCB in reaching the final, but he was unable to lift the trophy because SRH played a spoiler in that game.

Also Read: IPL Records and Stats: Most Wins as Captain In IPL

  • Shubman Gill

Shubman Gill has played for Gujrat Titans from the 2022 IPL. And has become the second top of the list by scoring the most runs, he scored a total of 890 runs in 17 matches. He set many records in a series of IPL. His average was 59.33 and his strike rate of 157.80.

  • Jos Buttler

The English wicketkeeper-batsman crafted the 2022 season in his way, scoring 863 runs for the Rajasthan Royals. Jos Butler gave them magnificent starts in almost every match he played, assisting his team in reaching the finals. The exceptional year featured four centuries and four fifties, with a terrific average of 57.53 and a strike rate of 149.05. He hit 45 sixes in that season, ranking among the top five batsmen for most sixes in a season.

  • David Warner

Throughout all IPL seasons, David Warner has received the most orange caps. He made history by winning it three times in his career (2015, 2017, 2019), accompanied by Chris Gayle, who managed to win it twice in a row. In 2016, David went on to score 848 runs in 17 matches but ended up losing the cap to Virat. However, he led SRH to the playoffs for the fourth time in a row and led them to their first-ever IPL title. Warner is the only player to have multiple IPL seasons with 500-plus runs.

Also Read: IPL Records and Stats: Most defeats suffered by an IPL team in history

  • Kane Williamson

‘Consistent’ Kane Williamson is the next attribute in the line-up, dubbed “asset” because the SRH team used to refer to him as the team’s banker. Kane managed to play 17 games in 2018 and ended up scoring 735 runs. That season, he scored three fifties in a row, defining his dedication to the game. His scenario is also very equivalent to Virat Kohli’s; he led SRH to the IPL 2018 final match but ended up losing to Chennai Super Kings.

  • Chris Gayle

The Gayle Storm was at its apex in 2012, when he won the orange cap for scoring 733 runs in just one league. Chris Gayle’s relentless aggression was on display against several teams in that edition, including KXIP, RR, and KKR. He is ranked third in the list of top scorers in the solo season, trailing only Virat Kohli and Kane. The following year, he hit a monster and historic tonne of 175*(66) against the Pune Warriors India.

“Get more sports news, cricket news, and football updates, log on to sportsdigest.in. Follow us on Facebook or Twitter and Subscribe to our YouTube Channel.”

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More