List of WWE Universal Champions: Ranked and Reviewed

Finn Bálor won first. Brock Lesnar has three record reigns. Roman Reigns’ 842-day second reign is the longest, while Bálor’s 22-hour reign is the shortest since he had to resign from the championship following a legitimate injury.

WWE, an American professional wrestling organization, is responsible for creating and promoting a world heavyweight title known as the WWE Universal Championship. This championship is associated with the SmackDown brand division. Alongside Raw’s WWE Championship, it is one of the two world titles that are up for grabs for WWE’s main roster talent. Roman Reigns is the current WWE World Heavyweight Champion, and he is currently in the midst of his second reign, which is the longest reign in the history of the title. Since Reigns also holds the WWE Championship, he currently defends both brands as the Undisputed WWE Universal Championship. Even though each title continues to honor its history, Reigns is the only one who can successfully defend both titles simultaneously.

List of WWE Universal Champions

Stephanie McMahon and Mick Foley developed the Universal Championship as the flagship title when the WWE Championship went limited to SmackDown LIVE following the WWE Brand Extension. Bray Wyatt’s 2019 victory against Seth Rollins marked the transition of the Universal Title to the blue brand. It is among the most prestigious titles in WWE, alongside the WWE Championship on Raw and the NXT Championship on NXT.

Eight champions and two vacancies have fought fourteen reigns. Finn Bálor was the first person to claim victory. Brock Lesnar holds the record for the greatest number of reigns ever held at three. Roman Reigns’ current second reign is the longest at over 842 days, while Bálor’s 22-hour reign is the shortest since he was forced to resign the belt after suffering a legitimate injury while obtaining it. Reigns also hold the record for the longest cumulative rule with more than 906 days. Kevin Owens is the youngest champion, having won the championship at the age of 32 years and 114 days, while Goldberg is the oldest, having won it for a second time at 53.

Here is the List of WWE Universal Champions:

No. Champions Days Date Of Reign When and where did they beat?
1 Finn Balor 1 21 August 2016-22 August 2016 beat Seth Rollins at SummerSlam 2016
2 Kevin Owens 188 29 August 2016-5 March 2017 Won a Fatal 4-way match on 29th August 2019 Raw
3 Goldberg 28 5 March 2017-2 April 2017 beat Kevin Owens at Fastlane 2017
4 Brock Lensar 504 2 April 2017-19 August 2018 defeated Goldberg at WrestleMania 33
5 Roman Reigns 64 19 August 2018-22 October 2018 beat Brock Lesnar at SummerSlam 2018
6 Brock Lensar 156 2 November 2018-7 April 2019 defeated Braun Strowman at Crown Jewel 2018
7 Seth Rollins 98 7 April 2019 – 14 July 2019 defeated Brock Lesnar at WrestleMania 35
8 Brock Lesnar 28 14 July 2019 – 11 August 2019 beat Seth Rollins at Extreme Rules 2019
9 Seth Rollins 81 11 August 2019 – 31 October 2019 beat Lesnar at SummerSlam 2019
10 “The Fiend” Bray Wyatt 119 31 October 2019 -27 February 2020 beat Seth Rollins at Crown Jewel 2019
11 Goldberg 27 or 28 27 February 2020 – 4 April 2020 Defeated The Fiend in a Super Showdown
12 Braun Strowman 150 or 151 4 April 2020 – 23 August 2020 Defeated Goldberg at WrestleMania 36 (Part-1)
13 “The Fiend” Bray Wyatt 7 23 August 2020 -30 August 2020 beat Braun Strowman at SummerSlam 2020
14 Roman Reigns 906+ 30 August 2020 – Present Defeated The Fiend and Braun Strowman at Payback 2020

“Get more sports news, cricket news, and football updates, log on to Follow us on Facebook or Twitter and Subscribe to our YouTube Channel.”

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More