Mohun Bagan Super Giant Football Club

Let’s know about Mohun Bagan Super Giant Football Club to experience the tradition of superior football

A professional sports organization with its home base in Kolkata, West Bengal, is the Mohun Bagan Athletic Club, or simply Mohun Bagan. It is one of the oldest clubs in Asia and was established in 1889 with a focus on football. The football division participates in the Indian Super League, the top league of Indian club football, and is now known as Mohun Bagan Super Giant for ownership reasons. The club is most known for its 1911 IFA Shield final triumph over the East Yorkshire Regiment. This triumph, which gave Mohun Bagan the first all-Indian club to defeat a British team in a championship match, was a crucial turning point in India’s struggle for independence. The football team’s history began in 2014 under the moniker Atletico de Kolkata. The group defeated Kerala Blasters in the tournament’s first-ever final to claim victory. Luis Garcia, a previous Champions League champion with Liverpool, was the club’s star player that season.

ATK Mohun Bagan was formed in 2020 after the team united with one of the oldest football clubs in India, Mohun Bagan. Its first complete season under the new name saw it make it to the finals.

ATK Mohun Bagan, who won the Indian Super League for the 2022–2023 season, will legally change its name to Mohun Bagan Super Giant as on June 1, 2023.


Sanjiv Goenka, the club’s owner, had already promised that the name would change after the Mariners defeated Bengaluru FC in the ISL 2022–23 championship game at the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium in Goa earlier this year.


The origins of Mohun Bagan AC can be traced to the 1880s, when young people from Shyambazar’s Fariapukur Lane set out to find the perfect location for a football club. They came across the marble Mohun Bagan Villa, which was then owned by the family of prominent jute trader Kirti Chandra Mitra.

The Mohun Bagan Sporting Club was founded on August 15, 1889, following a gathering of three major aristocratic Bengali families from North Kolkata: the Mitra, Basu, and Sen families. Bhupendra Nath Basu himself served as the meeting’s chairman. The newly established club’s first president was Bhupendra Nath Basu, while Jyotindra Nath Basu served as its first secretary.

Mohun Bagan Super Giant FC Squad

Head Coach

Jaun Ferrando


  • Armando Sadiku
  • Dimitri Petratos
  • Jason Cummings
  • Kiyan Giri
  • Liston Colaco
  • Manvir Singh
  • Md. Fardin Ali Molla


  • Abhishek Suryavanshi
  • Anirudh Thapa
  • Engson Singh
  • Federico Gallego
  • Glan Martins
  • Hugo Boumous
  • Lalrinliana Hnamte
  • Ashique Kuruniyan
  • Sahal Samad


  • Anwar Ali
  • Asish Rai
  • Brendan Hamill
  • Hector Yuste
  • Ravi Rana
  • Subhashish Bose
  • Sumit Rathi


  • Arsh Shaikh
  • Avilash Paul
  • Debnath Mondal
  • Vishal Kaith


The team has won the top-tier football competition a record six times to date, including three times each in the I-competition and the National Football League as well as once in the Indian Super League. Since they have won the tournament a record 14 times, they are one of the most successful Indian clubs in Federation Cup history. The team had also won a number of additional awards, such as the Durand Cup (16 times), IFA Shield (22 times), Rovers Cup (14 times), and Calcutta Football League (30 times).


This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More