On this day in 2017, Mumbai Indians won their 3rd IPL Trophy!

21 May 2017, exactly 3 years ago; Mumbai Indians won their third IPL title by defeating Rising Pune Supergiant in nail biter contest.

Mumbai Indians, the most successful franchise in the history of IPL has won 5 IPL titles. This is the highest number of titles won by any team since the beginning of IPL. Among all of it’s IPL wins, MI’s 2017 win that gave the franchise it’s 3rd title is one of the most memorable one.

Exactly 3 years ago, on this day Mumbai Indians defeated Rising Pune Super Giants in IPL 2017 final. On 21st May 2017, MI added 3rd IPL title in their list. This was really a close contest.

Tweet By Mumbai Indians

Mumbai Indians tweeted today via their official handle remembering 3 years to their victory. MI quotes ”  4 years since we won our third IPL trophy, back in 2017  Paltan, do you recall our Playing 11 from that iconic match? “

Notably the star studded team consisted of Simmons, Parthiv, Rayudu, Rohit Sharma, Krunal , Keiron Pollard, Hardik Pandya, Karn sharma ,Johnson, Malinga, and  Bumrah. Mumbai Indians is always said to be a most decorated franchise. It  was final bowl contest.

Image Credits: IBTimes India

Summary of the Match

Mumbai Indians playing first scored just 129 runs in 20 overs. Their top order and middle order miserably failed, but a sensible knock from Krunal Pandya kept them in the match. Krunal scored brilliant 47 runs off 38 balls  and helped Mumbai reach a descent total.

Coming down to chase a small target, RPS got a good start. But Mumbai’s economical bowling didn’t allow them to accelerate the run rate when needed. Although Ajinkya Rahane and Steve Smith struck to the crease and both of them scored 44 runs and 51 runs respectively. But their slow knock could not lead team to the win.

Image Credits: Hindustan Times

The Final Over

In the final over 11 runs were required to win the match. But an exceptional bowling from legendary bowler Mitchell Johnson came like a nightmare for RPS. They needed 4 runs of the final bowl but could score just 2. Dan Christian got run out attempting the third run.

In the final over of the match, RPS could just score 9 runs and lost 3 wickets. This was the game changing over of the match. Eventually, Mumbai Indians won their 3rd IPL title. Krunal Pandya for his brilliant all round performance won Man of the Match.

Subscribe to our newsletter
Get your daily dose of Cricket, Football, Tennis & other favorite sports with handpicked stories delivered directly to your inbox.
You can unsubscribe at any time

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More