Pakistan announce squads for the England and West Indies tours; Mohammad Abbas, Naseem Shah recalled in Test squad

Pakistan Selection committee named national squads for Tests, ODI’s and T20I’s. Pakistan is slated for England’s tour in July and West Indies tour in July-August.

Pakistan Chief selector Muhammad Wasim on Thursday, June 4, announced national squads for all formats. Pakistan will tour England and West Indies in July and August.

22-year-old batsman Azam Khan of Quetta Gladiators’ is the new face included in the T20I squad. Haris Sohail, Imad Wasim were also included for T20I, ODI squads. Yasir Shah’s inclusion is subject to fitness as he has not recovered fully from his knee injury which didn’t allow him to take part in the Zimbabwe tour. Mohammad Abbas, Naseem Shah make a comeback to the Test squad.

Babar Azam is captain for all formats. Shadab Khan is the vice-captain for the limited-overs format, while Mohammad Rizwan has been named as the vice-captain for Tests.

Chief selector Muhammad Wasim: “We have remained consistent in our selection and kept the same core of cricketers who have been in the set-up for a while. This is an extremely important and critical tour for Pakistan as we will be playing the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Super League ODIs against England as well as the T20Is against England and the West Indies as part of our preparations for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup. The Jamaica Test will count towards the ICC World Test Championship.”

“As such, keeping in view the above and in consultation with captain Babar Azam and head Misbah-ul-Haq, we have tried our best to maintain the winning combinations but at the same time recalled four experienced players and rewarded uncapped Azam Khan for his domestic performance, while also giving him the required confidence for the future challenges.”

ICC Tweeted through its official Twitter handle about Pakistan Squads-


ODIs: Babar Azam (captain), Shadab Khan (vice-captain), Abdullah Shafique, Faheem Ashraf, Fakhar Zaman, Haider Ali, Haris Rauf, Haris Sohail, Hasan Ali, Imam-ul-Haq, Mohammad Hasnain, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan (wicketkeeper), Salman Ali Agha, Sarfaraz Ahmed (wicketkeeper), Saud Shakeel, Shaheen Shah Afridi, and Usman Qadir.

T20Is: Babar Azam (captain), Shadab Khan (vice-captain), Arshad Iqbal, Azam Khan, Faheem Ashraf, Fakhar Zaman, Haider Ali, Haris Rauf, Hasan Ali, Imad Wasim, Mohammad Hafeez, Mohammad Hasnain, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan (wicketkeeper), Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Sarfaraz Ahmed (wicketkeeper), Shaheen Shah Afridi, Sharjeel Khan, and Usman Qadir.

Tests: Babar Azam (captain), Mohammad Rizwan (wicketkeeper, vice-captain), Abdullah Shafique, Abid Ali, Azhar Ali, Faheem Ashraf, Fawad Alam, Haris Rauf, Hasan Ali, Imran Butt, Mohammad Abbas, Mohammad Nawaz, Naseem Shah, Nauman Ali, Sajid Khan, Sarfaraz Ahmed (wicketkeeper), Saud Shakeel, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Shahnawaz Dahani, Yasir Shah (subject to fitness) and Zahid Mahmood.

Subscribe to our newsletter
Get your daily dose of Cricket, Football, Tennis & other favorite sports with handpicked stories delivered directly to your inbox.
You can unsubscribe at any time

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More