Shining Stars: Most Player of the Match Awards in T20 World Cup

In this blog, we will talk about players with the most Player of the Match awards in the T20 World Cup a list which is led by former Indian captain Virat Kohli

The T20 World Cup is a stage where individual brilliance can illuminate the entire tournament. Every player aspires to be the hero who carries their team to victory. The “Player of the Match” award recognizes the standout performer who has significantly impacted the outcome of a game. This article celebrates the players who have garnered the most Player of the Match awards in T20 World Cup history.

Virat Kohli: The Run Machine

Leading the pack is the former Indian captain, Virat Kohli. Arguably one of the most consistent batsmen of his generation, Kohli has amassed a record-breaking seven Player of the Match awards in just 25 World Cup matches. His ability to score piles of runs under pressure is legendary, and his contributions were instrumental in India’s journey to the finals in 2014 and 2016. While Kohli hasn’t been able to lead India to a T20 World Cup title yet, his individual brilliance has been undeniable.

Mahela Jayawardene: Sri Lanka’s Champion Batsman

Sri Lanka’s batting maestro, Mahela Jayawardene, was a pillar of consistency throughout his career. Alongside his fellow countryman, Kumar Sangakkara, Jayawardene formed a formidable batting duo for Sri Lanka. In the T20 World Cup arena, Jayawardene claimed five Player of the Match awards in 31 matches. He played a pivotal role in Sri Lanka’s triumphant campaign in 2014, showcasing his expertise in the shortest format.

Chris Gayle: The Universe Boss Leaves His Mark

The explosive left-handed batsman from the West Indies, Chris Gayle, occupies the third spot with five Player of the Match accolades in 33 World Cup appearances. Gayle, a force to be reckoned with, is credited with scoring the first-ever century in the T20 World Cup, achieved against South Africa in the inaugural edition of 2007. Nicknamed “The Universe Boss,” his powerful hitting was a key factor in West Indies’ victories in the 2012 and 2016 T20 World Cups.

Also Read: Champions of the Short Game: A Look at T20 World Cup Winners

Shane Watson: The All-Round Marvel

Australia’s former all-rounder, Shane Watson, was a valuable asset in their T20 World Cup campaigns. A potent combination of batting and bowling prowess, Watson earned five Player of the Match awards in 24 World Cup matches. He was a dependable figure with the bat, scoring crucial runs, while his deceptive slower balls often outfoxed batsmen. Watson’s all-around abilities significantly contributed to Australia’s T20 World Cup endeavors before his retirement from international cricket in 2016.

AB de Villiers: The 360-Degree Masterclass

The South African wicketkeeper-batsman, AB de Villiers, might not have the most Player of the Match awards, but his impact on T20 cricket is undeniable. De Villiers has clinched four Player of the Match awards in 30 World Cup matches for the Proteas. Renowned for his exploits in T20s, he has also excelled in the longer formats. De Villiers’ ability to adapt his batting tempo according to the situation makes him a truly versatile player, a skill he effectively displayed while attempting to save Test matches for South Africa.

Also Read: When the Runs Dried Up: Lowest Scores in T20 World Cup History


These players stand as testaments to the importance of individual brilliance in the T20 World Cup. Their exploits have not only propelled their teams forward but have also entertained and inspired cricket fans worldwide. The T20 World Cup continues to be a platform where new heroes emerge, and future tournaments promise to witness more dazzling performances worthy of the Player of the Match recognition.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More