The Hundred: The Hundred is here, the inside out of it and a lot more

The tournament will give equal weight to both men's and women's sides, with almost all the matches taking place as back-to-back double-headers at the same venue on the same day.

The Hundred is a form of limited-overs cricket, played by two teams each playing a single innings made up of 100 balls. It is considered to be England’s answer to India’s Indian Premier League (IPL) and Australia’s Big Bash League (BBL).

The Hundred is a new city-based cricket, similar to the Twenty20 competition popular and financially successful IPL. It was first proposed by the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) in September 2016.

According to reports, the format was invented to attract younger and more diverse crowds to watch cricket, with the expectation that the shorter format will mean each match lasts around two-and-a-half hours. Also, the players and spectators will have a different, exciting, and novel experience.

It will take place for the first time in summer 2021, having been delayed a year due to the COVID-19 pandemic. The Hundred will be played from 21 July to 21 August 2021 with ECB taking care of all COVID-19 protocols

Between 21 July – 18 August 2021, there will be a total of 32 league matches played. 20 August an eliminator between the 2nd and 3rd ranked teams. Final to be played on 21 August at Lord’s- Home of Cricket.

Every team will play 4 home and away matches each. After the first two matches, men and women matches will be played on the same day and at the same venue.

League’s top three teams will battle it out for the trophy. Topper of the table qualifies directly to the finals and 2nd and 3rd ranked teams will play semi-final or an eliminator.

The winner of the eliminator to face off with the top team in the finals, both teams will give all it to be the champions of inaugural The Hundred.


  • 8 teams to play in the tournament.
  • 100 balls per innings. Whoever scores the most runs wins.
  • The fielding side change ends after 10 balls.
  • Bowlers deliver either five or 10 consecutive balls, the captain decides.
  • Each bowler can deliver a maximum of 20 balls per game.
  • Each bowling side gets a strategic time-out of up to two and a half minutes
  • A 25-ball powerplay start for each team
  • Two fielders are allowed outside the 30-yard circle during the powerplay

What’s the difference ?
Men and women matches will be played together in the league.
The tournament will give equal weight to both men’s and women’s sides, with almost all the matches taking place as back-to-back double-headers at the same venue on the same day.

Teams in The Hundred are as follows 
Manchester Originals
Northern Superchargers
Birmingham Phoenix
Trent Rockets
Welsh Fire
London Spirit
Oval Invincibles
Southern Brave

Other News 
The Australian cricketers will be sidelined amid a packed international cricket calendar. Earlier, Australian women’s cricketer Rachael Haynes withdrew due to similar concerns.

According to reports, Australian stars pulling out include David Warner and Marcus Stoinis (Southern Brave), Adam Zampa (Birmingham Phoenix), Glenn Maxwell (London Spirit), Aaron Finch (Northern Superchargers), Jhye Richardson (Welsh Fire), and D’Arcy Short (Trent Rockets). These players are part of Australia’s 23-man squad for the series against the West Indies that will begin on July 9.

West Indies stars including Andre Russell and Nicholas Pooran have confirmed to be unavailable for the inaugural 100-ball tournament.

(With inputs from The Hundred’s official website)

Subscribe to our newsletter
Get your daily dose of Cricket, Football, Tennis & other favorite sports with handpicked stories delivered directly to your inbox.
You can unsubscribe at any time

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More