Washington Wizards Team Profile and Analysis: NBA Eastern Conference Southeast Division

The National Basketball Association’s Eastern Conference has three divisions, one of which is the Southeast Division (NBA). The five teams that make up the division are the Miami Heat, Orlando Magic, Charlotte Hornets, Washington Wizards, and Atlanta Hawks.

The division was established when Charlotte Bobcats upped the league’s total number of teams from 29 to 30 at the beginning of the 2004–05 season. The partnership created three divisions in each conference. With the Hawks, Bobcats, Heat, Magic, and Wizards as its first five members, the Southeast Division was established.

The Hawks joined from the Central Division, and the Heat, Magic and Wizards joined from the Atlantic Division. With the start of the 2014–15 season, the Bobcats changed their name to the Hornets, and from that point on, they followed the 1988–2002 franchise’s history. From 2002 to 2013, the now-New Orleans Pelicans went by the name of the Hornets.

The Magic have won four Southeast Division championships, the Hawks have won two, and the Wizards have won one. The Heat have won the most Southeast Division championships with eleven. In four straight seasons from 2011 to 2014, the Heat won the Southeast Division, which is still a record. Miami won the Southeast Division before its three championships (2006, 2012, and 2013).


Washington Wizards

A professional basketball club from the United States, the Washington Wizards are based in Washington, D.C. The Eastern Conference Southeast Division is where the Wizards compete in the National Basketball Association (NBA). In Washington, D.C.’s Chinatown district, the team plays its home games at Capital One Arena.

The Chicago Packers was the original name of the team when it was founded in Chicago, Illinois, in 1961. They changed their name to the Chicago Zephyrs the following season. They relocated to Baltimore, Maryland, in 1963, where they adopted the moniker of a former team with the same name and became known as the Baltimore Bullets. In 1973, the couple moved to the vicinity of Washington, D.C. and after a brief period as the Capital Bullets, they later adopted the moniker Washington Bullets for the next campaign. In 1997, They changed their name to the Wizards.

The Wizards have participated in four NBA Finals, including their 1978 victory. They’ve made 28 postseason appearances, won four conference championships (1971, 1975, 1978, and 1979), and eight division championships (1969, 1971, 1972, 1973, 1974, 1975, 1979, 2017). In 1975, they had a 60-22 record during the season. The only player in team history to earn the MVP (1969) and Finals MVP awards was Wes Unseld (1978). Four players have taken home the Rookie of the Year trophy: Walt Bellamy, Terry Dischinger, Earl Monroe, and Unseld.

The former Baltimore Bullets used a blue and orange colour scheme after relocating from Chicago in 1963, matching the city’s Colts football club (blue) and Orioles baseball team (orange) (blue). The Bullets’ original uniforms were blue and white with orange trim, but in the early 1970s, orange took the place of blue as the team’s primary colour. The Bullets also adopted unusual attire during this period, wearing jerseys with three broad stripes extending from the left side of the thigh up to the right. They altered their colours to red, white, and blue to match the American flag starting with the 1973–74 season, marking the team’s relocation to Landover, Maryland, as the Capital Bullets.

The chest of the jerseys and the side panels of the shorts of the uniforms both had broad horizontal stripes. The jerseys were preserved when they switched to the Washington Bullets as their new geographical identification a year later.

The Bullets wore the “Stars and Stripes” uniform until 1987; they made a few minor changes before the 1985–86 season, adding more thin stripes, the “Bullets” emblem to the right leg, and replacing the three stars on the shorts with light lines. The Bullets switched to a red road uniform and white home suit in 1987, changing their logo and team colours. Except for the transition to block letters and numbers before the 1990–91 season, The Bullets wore these uniforms until 1997 (after switching from the Serpentine font, which was used for both parts, with the player’s name on the back presented in lower case as well).

Head Coach: Wes Unseld Jr

Assistant Coach:

  • Joseph Blair
  • Mike Miller
  • Pat Delany
  • Zach Guthrie
  • Ryan Richman
  • Dean Oliver
  • Alex McLean
  • James Posey

City: Washington (DC)

Population: 705,749 people (6,280,487 people in the metropolitan area)

Arena: Capital One Arena (20,356 seats)

Owner/s: Ted Leonsis

General Manager: Tommy Sheppard

Team Record

NBA Titles: 1

Conference Titles: 4

Division Titles: 8

Playoff Appearances: 32

“Get more sports news, cricket news, and football updates, log on to sportsdigest.in. Follow us on Facebook or Twitter and Subscribe to our YouTube Channel.”

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More