WBBL 2021: Adelaide Strikers beat Sydney Thunder by 18 Runs, thus resulting in 6th loss for the defending champions

At the ongoing WBBL 2021, Adelaide Strikers won by 18 Runs against Sydney Thunder. Throughout the match, Adelaide Strikers were dominating. Towards the end, Sydney Thunder’s Issy Wong quick power-hitting knock went in vain.

The Adelaide Strikers vs Sydney Thunder is the 38th Match of the WBBL 2021 played on Tuesday, 09th November 2021 at the Karen Rolton Oval in Adelaide, Australia.

The 2021–22 Women’s Big Bash League or WBBL|07 is the seventh season and is being played from 14th October to 27th November 2021. It features eight teams and a total of 59 matches.

The line-up for Adelaide Strikers vs Sydney Thunder – WBBL 2021

Adelaide Strikers Women won the toss and elected to bat.

Adelaide Strikers Innings

By the end of the powerplay, Adelaide Strikers were 30/0. However, Katie Mack on 31 (off 28 balls) was bowled out by Lauren Smith. With that, Adelaide Strikers was 65/1 (9.6 overs).

Meanwhile, Sammy-Jo Johnson picked two wickets, dismissing Dane van Niekerk on 58 (off 46 balls) and Tahlia McGrath. After that, Adelaide Strikers were 126/3 in 16.3 overs.

In the end, Captain Hannah Darlington bowled the final over and dismissed Laura Wolvaardt on 54 (off 32 balls). However, Madeline Penna 14* (off 9 balls) hit six on the last ball to bring up 176/4 (20 overs) on the board for Adelaide Strikers.

Sydney Thunder’s Target is 177 Runs

An early wicket falls for Sydney Thunder as Smriti Mandhana was dismissed and they were 13/1 in 1.6 overs. By the end of the powerplay, Sydney Thunder were 34/1.

However, 3 wickets fall in quick succession of Phoebe Litchfield on 40 (off 28 balls), Sammy-Jo Johnson and Tahlia Wilson on 42 (off 46 balls). Sydney Thunder was at 95/4 (14.4 overs).

In the end, there were two dismissals – Issy Wong on 43 (off 17 balls) and Hannah Darlington. Sydney Thunder finished their innings at 158/6 (20 overs).

As a result, Adelaide Strikers Women won the match by 18 Runs. Hence, the Player of the Match was awarded to Laura Wolvaardt – 54 (off 32 balls).

Subscribe to our newsletter
Get your daily dose of Cricket, Football, Tennis & other favorite sports with handpicked stories delivered directly to your inbox.
You can unsubscribe at any time

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More