West Indies announce a provisional 17-man squad for Tests against South Africa; Chase, Powell and Hope make a comeback

The three were left out of the squad in the recent Test series against Sri Lanka. South Africa who will be touring West Indies first time after 2010. South Africa were then led by Graeme Smith.

Cricket West Indies (CWI) has named a provisional 17-man squad for the upcoming two-Test series against South Africa in St Lucia.  Roger Harpe is CWI’s Lead Selector.

The provisional squad is expected to be trimmed to a final 13 on Monday, ahead of the first Test from 10 to 14 June. It is the final series in the current cycle of the ICC World Test Championship.

The 17-man group includes one first-time inclusion in the shape of 19-year-old fast bowler Jayden Seales. Seales has played a total of 10 professional matches but impressed in the recent Brathwaite XI vs Roston Chase XI tour match, taking four wickets.

The squad also sees recalls for Roston Chase, Shai Hope, and Kieran Powell, who were all left out of the squad in the recent Test series against Sri Lanka. Fast bowler Chemar Holder was unavailable due to injury.

Young fast bowlers Keon Harding, Preston McSween, Marquina Mindley, and Nial Smith will all remain in St. Lucia to assist the Test squad with their preparations.

Jamaican fast bowler, Marquina Mindley, tested positive for COVID-19 on May 22. Following that, West Indies halted their training sessions. West Indies head coach Phil Simmons on May 30 said, “Happy that we are back to full training.”

South Africa will arrive on June 1 – will play two Test matches. First starting from June 10 and second form June 18. Followed by five T20I’s, starting from June 26 to July 3. South Africa will be touring West Indies after 2010. St Lucia and Grenada will be the hosts for African nations.


Kraigg Brathwaite (c), Jermaine Blackwood, Nkrumah Bonner, Darren Bravo, Roston Chase, Rahkeem Cornwall, Joshua Da Silva, Shannon Gabriel, Jahmar Hamilton, Jason Holder, Shai Hope, Alzarri Joseph, Kyle Mayers, Kieran Powell, Kemar Roach, Jayden Seales, Jomel Warrican

(with inputs from ICC’s official website)

Subscribe to our newsletter
Get your daily dose of Cricket, Football, Tennis & other favorite sports with handpicked stories delivered directly to your inbox.
You can unsubscribe at any time

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More