West Indies T20I Squad: Brandon King to Lead vs South Africa

West Indies announce their T20I squad for the series against South Africa, with Brandon King as the captain. Key players rest ahead of the T20 World Cup.

The West Indies have announced their 15-man squad for the upcoming home T20I series against South Africa. Brandon King is stepping in as captain in the absence of Rovman Powell, who is still participating in the IPL with the Rajasthan Royals. The series, which will take place from May 23 to 26 in Jamaica, serves as a final preparation for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup.

Key players Shai Hope and Nicholas Pooran will be rested for these matches to recuperate after their IPL commitments and will join the World Cup squad in Trinidad on May 27. Alzarri Joseph (Royal Challengers Bengaluru) and Sherfane Rutherford (KKR) are involved in the IPL knockouts and will join the squad if their teams do not make it to the IPL final.

Chief selector Desmond Haynes emphasized the importance of this series for players to secure their spots for the T20 World Cup opener against Papua New Guinea on June 2. He stated, “These are among the last competitive T20I matches before the start of the World Cup. Players have the opportunity to fine-tune their skills and ensure they are as prepared as they can be for the World Cup, whether they are in the final squad or reserve pool.”

White Ball Head Coach Daren Sammy highlighted the team’s recent high-intensity training camp in Antigua and the importance of building momentum with players returning from the IPL. “We have not played together as a team since the Australia series, but we just completed a very high-intensity training camp in Antigua. Now we have the chance to integrate some of our players returning from the IPL and build momentum as a group going into the World Cup.”

After the T20I series against South Africa, the West Indies will play a warm-up match against Australia on May 30.

West Indies Squad:

  • Brandon King (c)
  • Roston Chase
  • Fabian Allen
  • Alick Athanaze
  • Johnson Charles
  • Andre Fletcher
  • Matthew Forde
  • Jason Holder
  • Akeal Hosein
  • Shamar Joseph
  • Kyle Mayers
  • Obed McCoy
  • Gudakesh Motie
  • Romario Shepherd
  • Hayden Walsh Jr.

Series Schedule:

Date Match Venue
May 23 1st T20I Sabina Park, Jamaica
May 25 2nd T20I Sabina Park, Jamaica
May 26 3rd T20I Sabina Park, Jamaica

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More