Who is the Raja of Team Captains in all IPL Franchises?

Get to know who the Raja of the team captains in the IPL franchises and why this individual is often known as the king of all captains.

According to many, one of the brightest players to ever play the game is MS Dhoni. He was in charge when the Indian cricket team reached the top of the international rankings. His team, the Chennai Super Kings, is among the most successful in the IPL and has won the championship three times.

The Chennai Super Kings (CSK) paid Dhoni a contract for US$1.5 million. As a result, he was the most expensive player in the IPL’s inaugural season of auctions. Under his leadership, CSK won the 2010 Indian Premier League title, the 2011 Indian Premier League title, the 2010 Champions League T20 title, and the 2014 Champions League T20 title. 

In 2008, 2012, 2013, 2015, and 2019 league seasons, CSK finished as a runner-up. The first player to play 200 T20 games for Super Kings was MS Dhoni. The Indian Premier League player with the most games played is Dhoni. With CSK, Dhoni is one of only three captains who have twice won the Indian Premier League. MS Dhoni possesses many qualities that make him one of the top cricketers and captains in the world.  We bring to you 5 reasons why he is often called the Raja of Captains in IPL history:


  1. In IPL history, the most games a skipper has led:

The batsman with the most IPL games played as the captain is MS Dhoni. So far, he has served as the captain in 226 IPL games. He has captained CSK in 212 of those games. He has also led Pune Supergiants in 14 IPL games.

  1. He is the only captain to have led his team to 100 victories in the IPL:

The teams have to deal with several challenges, from the auctions to finding the appropriate balance for the team, so winning the league is more complex. Despite their greatest efforts, many teams have fallen short because captains need help to get the most out of their teammates. But one captain, MS Dhoni, has regularly performed admirably. He is the only skipper to have won 100 IPL games, making him one of the competition’s most successful captains. He now has 133 wins as captain in IPL. 

  1. Only one captain has participated in as many finals:

The only player in IPL history with experience in most championship games is MS Dhoni. He has participated in nine of the 10 IPL finals so far. Additionally, he has three times guided Chennai Super Kings to triumph.

  1. The sole skipper to successfully defend the IPL crown is:

Most of MS Dhoni’s accomplishments as captain occurred for Chennai Super Kings. He is skilled at developing relationships with the players, as was demonstrated during the 2010 league season when they were at the bottom of the standings at the halfway point. He continued to defend the trophy later. He is the only captain to date to have won back-to-back IPL titles.

  1. The most ejections in IPL history:

In addition to being a renowned captain and batter, MS Dhoni is revered as one of the greatest wicketkeepers in cricket history. Out of the 250 matches in the IPL, he has made 180 dismissals altogether. Dhoni has taken 138 catches and 42 stumpings behind the wickets to condense the field further.

Also Read: Who is the Godfather or Baap of IPL And Why? (sportsdigest.in)

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More