WTC Final: ICC announces officials for inaugural WTC final between India and New Zealand

Richard Illingworth and Michael Gough of the ICC Elite Panel of Umpires were named for the WTC Final while Chris Broad of the ICC Elite Panel of Match Referees will be the referee.

In a move to maintain neutrality, the International Cricket Council (ICC) announced its officials for the inaugural ICC World Test Championship (WTC) Final to be played between India and New Zealand. ICC disclosed the appointments through their media release on the official website.

The all-important match will be played at the Hampshire Bowl in Southampton from 18-22 June. All four officials belong to the ICC Elite Panel of Umpires and Referees. Coincidentally all three officials (two on-field umpires and a match referee) are former English players turned umpires or referees.

Chris Broad of the Emirates ICC Elite Panel of Match Referees will oversee the proceedings while Richard Illingworth and Michael Gough of the Emirates ICC Elite Panel of Umpires will be the on-field officials for the match.

Richard Kettleborough, also a member of the elite panel, will be the TV umpire, and Alex Wharf of the Emirates ICC International Panel of Umpires the fourth official.

ICC Senior Manager – Umpires and Referees, Adrian Griffith: “We are pleased to announce an experienced team of match officials for the final of the World Test Championship.”

“It has not been an easy time with the pandemic, but we are fortunate to have a group of officials at the top of their field who have been consistent over the years in this momentous fixture. We wish them all the very best.”

(with inputs from ICC’s official website)

Subscribe to our newsletter
Get your daily dose of Cricket, Football, Tennis & other favorite sports with handpicked stories delivered directly to your inbox.
You can unsubscribe at any time

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More