Anurag Thakur Launches 1st BIMSTEC Aquatics C’ships in Delhi

On Tuesday, Anurag Singh Thakur, the Union Minister for Youth Affairs, inaugurated the 2024 Aquatics Championships, marking its inaugural edition.

On Tuesday, Union Minister for Youth Affairs Anurag Singh Thakur inaugurated the 2024 Aquatics Championships, marking its inaugural occurrence.

The 1st BIMSTEC (Bay of Bengal Initiative for Multi-Sectoral Technical and Economic Cooperation) Aquatics Championships are taking place at Delhi’s Dr. Syama Prasad Mookerjee Swimming Pool Complex from February 6 to 9. The competitions include events for the Under-20 age category in Swimming, Water Polo, and Diving.

Also Read: Africa in action: Top sports news this week from Africa 

A total of 39 medals will be awarded across these three sporting events, with nine trophies at stake. The event is expected to draw over 500 participants, including 268 athletes from various BIMSTEC member countries.

The opening ceremony, attended by Sports Minister Anurag Singh Thakur, also saw the presence of Minister of Youth Affairs and Sports Nepal Dig Bahadur Limbu and Indra Mani Pandey, Secretary General of BIMSTEC, along with dignitaries from visiting countries and the government of India.

Also Read: Top Scorers in the Premier League 2023-24: Haaland & Salah in fiery Boot battle!

The Sports Minister expressed, “The World’s 25% population lives in South Asia and Southeast Asian reason and with the coming together of 7 BIMSTEC countries, the Bay of Bengal area not only becomes a region used for travel and transportation but also becomes an area of progress, development, and collaboration.” He emphasized that this collaboration will foster deeper friendships and build a sporting culture, enhancing camaraderie among athletes, aligning with the vision announced by the Prime Minister during the summit in Nepal.

Also Read: Cricket Legend Michael Klinger to Lead Gujarat Giants in Women’s Premier League

BIMSTEC, The Bay of Bengal Initiative for Multi-Sectoral Technical and Economic Cooperation, serves as a unique link between South and South-East Asian countries, featuring five members from South Asia (Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Nepal, and Sri Lanka) and two members from South-East Asia (Myanmar & Thailand).

For the first time in history, the organization is hosting a sports competition, and India is the host. Prime Minister Narendra Modi announced the Youth Water Sports competition during the 4th BIMSTEC Summit in 2018. Initially planned for 2021, the event was later postponed to 2024 due to the global outbreak of the COVID-19 pandemic.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More