Ashes 2023: How many batters have been saved by no-balls?

Some say bowling a no-ball is criminal. In this article, we will take a look at how many batters have been saved by no-balls in Ashes 2023.

As many as three batters have been saved by no-balls in the ongoing hotly contested Ashes series. Only once the mistake of overstepping has proven to be costly. English bowlers have been on the wrong side twice. Here is a look at the three instances when batters were dismissed on no-balls in Ashes 2023.

Josh Hazlewood vs Chris Woakes

Josh Hazlewood was batting at number 11 for the Australian team in the ongoing 4th test match at Old Trafford, Manchester. Chris Woakes searching for a five-wicket haul came close to register his first fifer in the Ashes during the 85th over of the Australian batting innings. Woakes’ joy was short-lived as the TV umpire informed on-field umpires about Woakes overstepping. His mistake meant that England conceded 13 runs more. For Woakes, he registered his first five-wicket haul after he dismissed the same batter again in the 91st over.


Usman Khawaja vs Stuart Broad

In the first test match England’s decision to declare on the first day was already getting backfiring as opener Usman Khawaja continued his dream run in red-ball cricket by notching up a century. In the 81st over of the Australian batting innings, Stuart Broad who recently took his 600th wicket had bowled a peach to dismiss Khawaja who was batting on 112 off 233 balls. Before Broad could make any celebrations the TV umpire had informed the on-field umpired about Broad’s mistake. The mistake proved to be a costly one as Khawaja went on to make 141 runs off 321 balls. In a game which was won by a small margin on day 5, Khawaja’s 29 runs and Broad’s no-ball was one of deciding factors of the game. 

Broad talked about his mistake at the end of the day’s play. He said, “I’m not really a big no-ball bowler. I have probably bowled more today than in a Test match day before. There’s no excuse. But it is the first innings of an Ashes Test match, you have some big emotions there so you are trying to gain energy from the surface and maybe pushing a little bit too hard. It is something to be aware of.”

Joe Root vs Cameron Green

The only English batter to be lucky enough to benefit from a no-ball was the former captain Joe Root. Cameron Green was on a roll during the second test match. The tall fast-bowling all-rounder dismissed Ollie Pope on the first ball of the 39th over by bowling a bouncer. He tried the same trick on the former English skipper. Root played the first bouncer carefully but he nicked the second bouncer he faced to wicketkeeper, Alex Carey. It could have been the best over of Green’s career had he not overstepped. Root couldn’t make the most of the second life he got as he was dismissed after scoring just 10 runs off Mitchell Starc’s bowling. It was again a bouncer that dismissed Root.

Also Read: World Cup 2023: How does the schedule benefit India?

“Get more sports news, cricket news, and football updates, log on to Follow us on Facebook or Twitter and Subscribe to our YouTube Channel.”

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More