Babar Azam to Captain Pakistan in T20 World Cup 2024 in June

The squad boasts a well-balanced mix of seasoned veterans and exciting young talents. Babar Azam will himself captain the team, alongside Mohammad Rizwan.

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has unveiled their 15-man squad for the upcoming T20 World Cup, set to be played in the USA and West Indies this June. Leading the charge will be Babar Azam, who has reclaimed the limited-overs captaincy from Shaheen Afridi.

A Blend of Experience and Youth

The squad boasts a well-balanced mix of seasoned veterans and exciting young talents. Babar Azam himself captains the team, alongside Mohammad Rizwan. Young opener Saim Ayub, who impressed with Peshawar Zalmi in PSL 2024, has earned a well-deserved call-up. Other promising youngsters include Azam Khan and the versatile Abbas Afridi, who showcased his skills with both the new ball and in the death overs.


Experienced Reinforcements

The squad welcomes back the experienced pacer Mohammad Amir, who last played for Pakistan in 2021 against New Zealand. Spin-bowling all-rounder Imad Wasim also makes a return, bolstering Pakistan’s spin department alongside Shadab Khan and the newcomer Abrar Ahmed.

Pace Powerhouse

Pakistan’s bowling attack appears particularly strong. The potent trio of Shaheen Afridi, Naseem Shah, and Haris Rauf forms the core, with additional support from Mohammad Amir, Usman Khan, and Abbas Afridi. Afridi and Shah have consistently delivered, while Rauf’s performances have been more inconsistent.

Solid Batting Line-up

The batting department features a blend of youth and experience. Openers Azam Khan and Saim Ayub bring an attacking approach, while the middle order boasts the stability of Babar Azam, Mohammad Rizwan, Fakhar Zaman, and Iftikhar Ahmed.

Concerns Despite Balanced Squad

While the squad appears well-rounded on paper, Pakistan’s recent form has raised concerns. A drawn series against a young New Zealand team and a T20I defeat to Ireland highlights a less-than-ideal preparation for the World Cup. The Babar Azam-led side will be looking to shake off these recent stumbles and recapture their winning ways.

Pakistan’s Squad for the T20 World Cup 2024:

  • Babar Azam (captain)
  • Saim Ayub
  • Mohammad Rizwan (wk)
  • Fakhar Zaman
  • Azam Khan (wk)
  • Usman Khan
  • Iftikhar Ahmed
  • Imad Wasim
  • Shaheen Shah Afridi
  • Shadab Khan
  • Mohammad Amir
  • Abbas Afridi
  • Naseem Shah
  • Haris Rauf
  • Abrar Ahmed

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More