Chhattisgarh Chess Association’s Delhi High Court Case Spurs Election Mode in All India Chess Federation

Chhattisgarh Chess Association’s case in Delhi High Court accelerates the election process in All India Chess Federation (AICF). AICF announces March 10 as the election date.

The Chhattisgarh Pradesh Satranj Sangh (Chhattisgarh State Chess Association) has filed a case in the Delhi High Court against the delayed elections in the All India Chess Federation (AICF). The move seems to have prompted the AICF to enter election mode, and the Delhi High Court will hear the case on February 14.

In response to the case, the two Returning Officers for the AICF elections, Justice G.S.Sistani (Retired) and Justice Rang Nath Pandey (Retired) announced March 10 as the election date. The election announcement came later than usual, as per the standard schedule, elections should have taken place on or before January 3, 2024.

An official from the state chess body mentioned that the election process in the AICF (All India Chess Federation) has commenced following the filing of the case. A General Body Meeting has been scheduled for March 10, 2024, in New Delhi, where elections for the years 2024-2027 will take place.


The agenda for the General Body Meeting includes the ratification of minutes from the Urgent General Body Meeting held on December 28, 2023, in New Delhi, and the election of office bearers for the tenure 2024-2027. Positions to be filled include One President, Six Vice Presidents, One Honorary Secretary, Six Joint Secretaries, and One Treasurer.

Every affiliated State/Union Territory Association is entitled to two votes, and the list of delegate names must be submitted by February 23, 2024. The contestants are required to file nominations between February 25 and February 27, 2024, with scrutiny on March 1, 2024, and the last date for withdrawal on March 3, 2024.

The AICF stated that if required, elections will be conducted during the General Body Meeting on March 10, and the results will be announced after the counting of votes.

AICF’s president Dr. Sanjay Kapoor and interim secretary Ajeet Kumar Verma were not available for comments.


This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More