Indian player Harmanpreet Kaur has been named the WBBL Player of the Tournament for the first time.

Harmanpreet Kaur of the Melbourne Renegades became the first Indian woman to win the Women Big Bash League Player of the Tournament award.

Harmanpreet Kaur of the Melbourne Renegades was named the Women Big Bash League (WBBL) Player of the Tournament for the first time, while Phoebe Litchfield was named the Young Gun of Weber WBBL|07 . Harmanpreet Kaur had a fantastic season in red, finishing the regular season as the team’s leading hitter (399 runs) and spinner (15 wickets). Standing umpires at each match voted Kaur the best player in the competition, with 31 votes to finish three votes ahead of Perth Scorchers teammates Beth Mooney and Sophie Devine, who each received 28 votes.

The top six include Brisbane Heat’s Grace Harris (25 votes) and Georgia Redmayne (24 votes), as well as Hurricanes batter Mignon du Preez (24 votes).Kaur joins Devine (twice) and Amy Satterthwaite of New Zealand as international players to have received the competition’s top individual award, with Mooney, Meg Lanning, and Ellyse Perry also having received it previously.

“I’m happy because I’ve accomplished something significant. I’m grateful to my team and all of the support workers; they’ve been fantastic at this period and have been extremely helpful. It’s been a total team effort — I was simply doing what the team asked of me “Harmanpreet Kaur stated in a press release.

“We’ve put together a team that works well together. That’s what we’ve been doing: we’ve been supporting each other. I haven’t put any additional pressure on myself; instead, I’ve simply loved being here and cheering for my teammates “she continued.

Weber WBBL|07’s ‘Young Gun,’ on the other hand, is Sydney Thunder’s Phoebe Litchfield. Cricket Australia’s National Selection Panel selects the finest player under the age of 21 for the Young Gun award.

Throughout the season, the 18-year-old juggled her NSW Higher School Certificate duties while shining at number three for an injury-plagued Thunder team, amassing 263 runs.

Darcie Brown, Hannah Darlington, Georgia Wareham, Sophie Molineux, Ashleigh Gardner, and Lauren Cheatle have all won the prize previously.

“Being honoured with this award means a lot to me. To be honest, it’s a bit of a shock. I can think of a few other young athletes who would be deserving of this honour, which bodes well for the future “Phoebe Litchfield expressed her opinion.

“Batting third was both a challenge and an opportunity. Trevor Griffin trusted me with that spot, and I hope I was able to make the most of it “she continued.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More