Indiana Pacers Team Profile and Analysis: NBA Eastern Conference Central Division

One of the three divisions in the Eastern Conference of the National Basketball Association is called the Central Division (NBA). Read to know more.

One of the three divisions in the Eastern Conference of the National Basketball Association is called the Central Division (NBA). There are five clubs in the division: the Chicago Bulls, Cleveland Cavaliers, Detroit Pistons, Indiana Pacers, and Milwaukee Bucks.

A professional basketball club from the United States, the Indiana Pacers are based in Indianapolis. The Pacers are a member of the Eastern Conference Central Division of the National Basketball Association (NBA). The Pacers were originally founded in 1967 as a part of the American Basketball Association (ABA), and in 1976, as a result of the ABA-NBA merger, they joined the NBA. Gainbridge Fieldhouse is where they hold their home games. The squad was given its name in honour of Indiana’s involvement with harness racing and the pace cars used for the Indianapolis 500.

Three ABA titles have been won by the Pacers. NBA Eastern Conference champions in 2000 were the Pacers. The group has won nine division championships. Reggie Miller, Chris Mullin, Alex English, Mel Daniels, Roger Brown, and George McGinnis were among the six members of the Pacers’ Hall of Fame who played for the team for a number of seasons.


The (navy) blue, cool grey, gold, and white of the Indiana Pacers are their colours.  The Flag of Indiana inspired the initial team colours, which were blue and yellow with a more medium tone of blue. With blue and yellow trim, the Pacers’ standard white home jersey is worn by the team. They wear blue clothing on the road with yellow accents. They also have a third uniform that they occasionally wear at home or on the road; it is yellow with blue accent. The 1983 season saw them play in the gold home uniform with blue and white trim. The Pacers’ pinstripe outfits were worn from 1997 to 2005.

Florence Griffith-Joyner, an American track and field athlete, created one of their most recognisable outfits between 1990 and 1997, which was worn by Reggie Miller and included a contemporary typeface reminiscent of Helvetica. The Pacers’ supporters frequently called to the uniforms as “Flo-Jos.” The Indiana Pacers’ brand-new uniforms were presented on September 29, 2005. The Indiana Pacers debuted a new uniform inspired on the 1986 movie Hoosiers on July 21, 2015, in partnership with Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer (MGM) Studios. Throughout the 2015–16 season, the Pacers played in a number of home games, and a few select away games in these maroon and gold “Hickory” outfits (the name and colours of the fictional high school from the movie).

Full Name: Indiana Pacers

Nick Name: Pacers

Founded: 1967

Ground: Bankers Life Fieldhouse

Prominent Players: Victor Oladipo, Malcolm Brogdon, Domantas Sabonis and Myles Urner

Head Coach: Rick Carlisle

Assistant Coach: Jenny Boucek

The team adopted the moniker “Pacers” in recognition of Indiana’s status as the location of the Indianapolis 500 and the state’s long history of harness racing when it was established in 1967 as one of the initial members of the ABA.

“Get more sports news, cricket news, and football updates, log on to Follow us on Facebook or Twitter and Subscribe to our YouTube Channel.”

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More