Los Angeles Lakers Team Profile and Analysis: Western Conference and Pacific Division NBA

Know everything that you can about the Los Angeles Lakers NBA team and the profile that they carry for the Western Conference Pacific Division

The Western Conference is another of the two conferences that embody the National Basketball Association (NBA), with the Eastern Conference being the other. Both conferences comprise 15 clubs broken down into three divisions. The current divisional structure was set up before the commencement of the 2004-05 season when the now-Charlotte Hornets had become the NBA’s 30th club. The New Orleans Pelicans were compelled to migrate from the Eastern Conference’s Central Division to the Western Conference’s newly established Southwest Division.

The Western Conference championship trophy was originally awarded by the NBA during the 2000-01 season, and it was later dedicated to Hall of Famer Oscar Robertson in the 2021-22 season. In 2021-22, the league established the Earvin “Magic” Johnson Trophy, named after Hall of Famer Magic Johnson, for said Western Conference Finals Most Valuable Player. 

Pacific Division: 

The Pacific Division makes up one of three divisions in the National Basketball Association’s Western Conference (NBA). The division’s five teams are listed as follows, the Golden State Warriors, Los Angeles Clippers, Los Angeles Lakers, Phoenix Suns, and Sacramento Kings. Aside from the Suns, all franchises are centered in California. The division was introduced at the commencement of the 1970-71 season when the league extended from 14 to 17 teams with the arrivals of the Buffalo Braves, Cleveland Cavaliers, and Portland Trail Blazers. 

The Lakers have collected the most Pacific Division championships, having 24. The Phoenix Suns hold the second most titles, having eight. Pacific Division has yielded 19 NBA titles. The Lakers had captured 12 championships, the Warriors had won 5, whereas the Blazers and Sonics each earned one. Except for the 1976-77 Blazers, the 2001-02 Lakers, and the 2021-22 Warriors, they were all division champions. Six teams from the division reached the playoffs in 1991-92. Throughout the 1977-78 season, all teams in the division achieved winning percentages higher than 0.500 (50%). The Phoenix Suns were the latest division champions.

Coaching Staff, Owners and Trainers of the Los Angeles Lakers:

Coaching Staff:

Darvin Ham Sr., a former NBA player, now serves as a professional basketball coach. He is currently the head coach of the Los Angeles Lakers of the NBA. Darvin Ham started with the Thunderbirds as an assistant coach in 2018 and was later appointed as the head coach. Later, Ham approached the Lakers in 2011 about earning the post of assistant coach and dealing with player development. Darvin Ham also played a crucial role in helping the Atlanta Hawks capture the Division title in 2015. Darvin Ham was elected Lakers head coach on June 3, 2022.

Assistant Coach:

Phil Handy

Chris Jent

Jordan Ott

Schuyler Rimmer

J.D. Dubois

Zach Peterson

Trainer: Roger Sancho


Gerald Hatten Buss, an American businessman, investor, and philanthropist, acquired the plurality of the Los Angeles Lakers shares. He acquired the Los Angeles Lakers of the NBA as well as the Los Angeles Kings of the NHL. The Los Angeles Lakers used to have a fantastic record under Buss’ ownership, owing to a pool of outstanding players such as Shaquille O’Neal, James Worthy, Kobe Bryant, Pau Gasol, and many others. Following his death in 2013, ownership had been handed to his six children via the Buss Family Trusts. Philip Anschutz, Edward P. Roski, and Patrick Soon-Shiong are also partial shareholders of the franchise.

Los Angeles Lakers (overview)

The Los Angeles Lakers‘ history stretches back to 1947. It all originated with the purchase of a bankrupt National Basketball League franchise (the Detroit Gems) for $15,000. In Minneapolis, the team was known as the Minneapolis Lakers. Before joining the rival BAA, the franchise won its first NBL title in 1948. (Basketball Association of America). From 1960 until 1972, the team was known as the Los Angeles Lakers, and it won its first (of a total of six) NBA championships under that title. The team has won 33 Division titles, 19 Conference titles, and 18 (NBL:1; NBA:17) wins as of the 2021-22 NBA season.


The Los Angeles Lakers have been the most successful franchise in NBA history. Since its establishment, the team has claimed 17 NBA titles by showcasing impressive competence across numerous seasons. In 1949, 1950, 1952, 1953, 1954, 1972, 1980, 1982, 1985, 1987, 1988, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2009, 2010, and 2020, the Lakers won the NBA championship. Additionally, the 1980s were a noteworthy era for the team, as they won five Championships in nine years. Wilt Chamberlain, Elgin Baylor, LeBron James, Magic Johnson, Shaquille O’Neal, Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, and Kobe Bryant were some of the most promising prospects who helped the team win championships.

“Get more sports news, cricket news, and football updates, log on to sportsdigest.in. Follow us on Facebook or Twitter and Subscribe to our YouTube Channel.”

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More