ODI World Cup 2023: Australia defeats the Netherlands by 309 runs

All Australian bowlers picked up wickets as the five-time champions defeated the Netherlands by a whopping margin of 309 runs. Here is a recap.

Australia solidified their top-four spot with a 309-run victory over the Netherlands in the 24th match of the ongoing ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023. The five-time champions put on an all-round bowling performance before Glenn Maxwell and David Warner stole the show with the bat in the first innings at the Arun Jaitley Stadium. Here is a recap of the second innings.

Australia controls the powerplay with quick wickets

Vikramjit Singh and Max ODowd for the first time in the World Cup got off to a decent start. Singh scored the first boundary on the last ball of the first over by Mitchell Starc. ODowd too smashed a four on the first ball of the second over by Josh Hazlewood. Singh smashed two more fours in the same over as Hazlewood went for 14 runs in his first over. Singh got off to a flier by scoring two more fours in the third over. At the end of three overs, the Netherlands had scored 27 runs and even though they needed a lot more in their pursuit of 400 they were going at a good pace. 


After a one-run over from Hazlewood, Starc drew the first blood in the fifth over by dismissing ODowd. Vikramjit gifted his wicket with a needless runout in the sixth over. Hazlewood picked up the third wicket in the last over of the powerplay by dismissing Colin Ackermann.

Wickets continue to fall for the Dutch

Australian skipper, Pat Cummins picked up his first wicket of the match right after the powerplay in the 11th over. Bas de Leede was the victim as Cummins struck just in his second over. Mitchell Marsh was introduced in the attack in the 14th over and made an instant impact by picking up Sybrand Engelbrecht. The Netherlands lost half of their side with just 62 runs on the board.

After a short 22-run partnership between Teja Nidamanuru and skipper, Scott Edwards once again a collapse occurred for the Dutch. Marsh in his third over dismissed Nidamanuru. In the following over, Adam Zampa picked up two wickets in two balls dismissing Logan van Beek and Roelof van der Merwe. Zampa picked up his third wicket in his following over by dismissing Aryan Dutt.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More