ODI World Cup 2023: South Africa defeated New Zealand by 190 runs

South Africa gets back to the top of the table after a stunning win against New Zealand by 190 runs. Here is a recap of the second innings.

South Africa’s stellar form continues with a huge win against New Zealand. New Zealand on the other hand, has now lost three games in a row after winning their first four games. Centuries from Quinton de Kock and Rassie van der Dussen and a complete bowling performance set up the 190-run victory. Here is a recap of the second innings.

Jansen’s strike put New Zealand on the backfoot

Marco Jansen started right on the money and induced an outside edge from Devon Conway’s bat on the very first ball of the second innings. Lungi Ngidi in the second over bowled a maiden to Will Young. Jansen in the third over once again beat Conway with slight away movement. Jansen dismissed the 32-year-old Kiwi opener on the final ball of the third over. 


Rachin Ravindra after impressing throughout the tournament was dismissed in the ninth over by a short ball from Jansen. Ravindra took on the short ball but only managed to top edge it to fine leg. This was Jansen’s 12th wicket in the powerplay during this World Cup, the next best is Dilshan Madhanka with six wickets. New Zealand ended the powerplay with 51 runs on the scoreboard at the expense of two wickets.

Quick wickets hurt New Zealand

On just the third ball after the powerplay, Gerald Coetzee bowling his first over dismissed Will Young. Young scored 33 runs in 37 balls hitting five fours. Kagiso Rabada bowling from the opposite end bowled a maiden over. After a few more quiet overs from Coetzee and Rabada the veteran pacer picked up his first wicket of the match. Rabada in his fourth over dismissed New Zealand skipper, Tom Latham. Latham never looked settled during his stay at the crease. 

Coetzee lost his control over line and length for a short while in the 17th over which went for 15 runs. Keshav Maharaj replaced him and straightaway made an impact by dismissing Darryl Mitchell. After a continuous disciplined bowling effort from the fast bowlers, Mitchell decided to take on the off-spinner he came down the pitch but couldn’t get to the pitch of the delivery and miscued the lofted shot to long-off. Rabada bowled the third maiden over of the innings in the 20th over. 

At the end of 20 overs, New Zealand had scored 91 runs at the loss of five wickets. Maharaj picked up his second wicket in the 23rd over by dismissing Mitchell Santner after being hit for a four on the previous delivery. James Neesham who struck on his right hand in the first innings didn’t come to bat and instead, Tim Southee came in at number eight.

Jansen came back into the attack for his second spell in the 26th over and took a wicket on his first ball of the new spell. Jansen dismissed Southee via LBW who had scored seven runs in 11 balls. Maharaj picked up his third wicket to dismiss Neesham for an eight-ball duck. Glenn Phillips hit the first six of the innings in the 29th over. Maharaj picked up his fourth wicket to dismiss Trent Boult. Matt Henry despite tearing his right hamstring came in to bat at the fall of the ninth wicket. Phillips with three consecutive boundaries in the 33rd over completed his half-century and made some useful runs with respect to New Zealand’s NRR. Phillips hit another six before getting dismissed on the next ball by Coetzee.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More