Portland Trail Blazers Team Profile and Analysis: Western Conference and Northwest Division NBA

The National Basketball Association (NBA) is one of the professional basketball leagues in USA and Canada. Read to know about the teams and the roles.

The National Basketball Association (NBA) is one of the professional basketball league in USA and Canada. It is based in North America. It constitutes of 30 teams divided into two conferences: Eastern Conference and Western Conference. Each conference is divided into three divisions. Northwest Division, Southwest Division, Pacific Division are the divisions of Eastern Conference. One of the five southeast divisions of Eastern Conference is Portland Trail Blazers. It is based in Portland, OregonThe Western Conference of National Basketball Association (NBA comprises of 15 teams which are as follows: 

  • Dallas MavericksSouthwest
  • Denver NuggetsNorthwest
  • Golden State WarriorsPacific
  • Houston RocketsSouthwest
  • Los Angeles ClippersPacific
  • Los Angeles LakersPacific
  • Memphis GrizzliesSouthwest
  • Minnesota TimberwolvesNorthwest
  • New Orleans PelicansSouthwest
  • Oklahoma City ThunderNorthwest
  • Phoenix SunsPacific
  • Portland Trail Blazers Northwest
  • Sacramento Kings Pacific
  • San Antonio Spurs Southwest
  • Utah JazzNorthwest

Northwest Divisions of Western Conference are: 

  • Denver Nuggets
  • Minnesota Timberwolves
  • Oklahoma City Thunder
  • Portland Trail Blazers
  • Utah Jazz

Portland Trail Blazers

The Portland Trail Blazers are an American professional basketball team. They are based in Portland, Oregon and are commonly known as the Blazers. They play as a member of the NBA’s Western Conference Northwest Division. The team started as an expansion team of NBA in 1970. At that time, coach of team was Rolland ToddGeoff Petrie and Sidney Wicks were leaders of the team in early years. Though the team reached NBA finals thrice but won championship once in 1977. After winning 1977 championship, the team never crossed the semifinals. Players of the team in 1980’s were Key players for the Blazers during the early 1980s included Mychal ThompsonWayne CooperT. R. DunnJim Paxson, Calvin Natt, Billy Ray Bates, Darnell Valentine, Fat Lever were the players who played for the said team in 1980’s. Under leadership of Drexler, team reached NBA finals in 1990 and 1992. The team was defeated by Detroit Pistons  in 1990 and Chicago Bulls in 1992. 

Bill Walton, Dražen PetrovićClyde DrexlerScottie Pippen, Arvydas Sabonis, Lenny Wilkens – Six Hall of Flame players have played for the team. BlazerDancers is the dancers squad name of the Blazers who perform cheerleading dance in home games, promotional events and charity events. 

The team colours of Miami Heat are as follows:

  • Red
  • Black
  • White

The basic details of the said team are as follow:

Arena: Moda Center

Location: Portland, Oregon

Main Sponsor: StormX

General Manager: Joe Cronin

President:  Dewayne Hankins

Head coach: Chauncey Billups

Ownership: Paul G. Allen Trust (Jody Allen, chairwoman)

Championships: 1 (1977)

“Get more sports news, cricket news, and football updates, log on to sportsdigest.in. Follow us on Facebook or Twitter and Subscribe to our YouTube Channel.”

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More