2021 WTA Finals: Garbiñe Muguruza is crowned as the champion after victory against Anett Kontaveit

At the 2021 WTA Finals, in the Women’s Singles Final – Garbiñe Muguruza won against Anett Kontaveit in straight sets 6-3, 7-5. With this, Muguruza bagged her 10th career title and became the 1st Spaniard to win the year-ending singles championships.

In the 2021 WTA Finals, Garbiñe Muguruza won in straight sets 6-3, 7-5 against Anett Kontaveit in the Final on Wednesday night, 17th November 2021. Thus, Muguruza became the 1st Spaniard to win the WTA Finals Singles title.

The WTA Finals is a tournament of the Women’s Tennis Association (WTA) played annually at the end of the season. Only the players who are at the top of the WTA Rankings can compete in the tournament. Meanwhile, the ongoing WTA Finals is held in Zapopan, Mexico from 10th to 17th of November.

Match Report 2021 WTA Finals – Garbiñe Muguruza vs Anett Kontaveit 

6th seed Spain’s Garbiñe Muguruza won in straight sets against the No. 8 seed Estonia’s Anett Kontaveit and was crowned as the Champion of the prestigious year-ending singles championships – 2021 WTA Finals. Muguruza won by 6-3, 7-5 & bagged her 10th Career Title, 3rd of the year.

Meanwhile, the Final was played at Estadio Akron de Tenis. It lasted for about 1-hour and 38-minutes.

However, in this encounter, Muguruza was behind in the 2nd set but fought back. Meanwhile, in Aces, Kontaveit lead by 3-2. But regarding the double faults – the Estonian made 6 while Muguruza none.

Format of 2021 WTA Finals

Meanwhile, the defending singles champion is Ashleigh Barty from the 2019 edition.

Round-Robin format: The tournament was played in a round-robin format with the top 2 players from each group advancing to the semi-finals.

Garbiñe Muguruza – En route to the Final

RR1: lost to Karolína Plíšková 4–6, 6–2, 7–6(8–6)

RR2: won against Barbora Krejčíková 2–6, 6–3, 6–4

RR3: won against Anett Kontaveit 6–4, 6–4

SF 1: won against Paula Badosa 6-3, 6-3

F: won against Anett Kontaveit 6-3, 7-5

Hence, the two-time Grand Slam champion, Garbiñe Muguruza betters up Spain’s 1993 WTA Finals runner-up, Arantxa Sanchez Vicario who had lost to Stefanie Graf. It was a good campaign for Anett Kontaveit too as she reached the finals in her tournament debut.

Watch the Highlights of – Garbiñe Muguruza vs Anett Kontaveit

Subscribe to our newsletter
Get your daily dose of Cricket, Football, Tennis & other favorite sports with handpicked stories delivered directly to your inbox.
You can unsubscribe at any time

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More