Asia Cup Records: Most wickets-takers in Asia Cup 2023

The Asia Cup 2023 witnesses outstanding bowlers vying for wickets. Can anyone surpass Muttiah Muralitharan’s legendary record?

The Asia Cup is a venerable cricket tournament, deeply ingrained in the cricketing calendar of the Asian continent. Asia Cup 2023, the latest iteration of this prestigious competition, saw India’s cricketing prowess shine as they secured a resounding 10-wicket victory over Sri Lanka in the grand final. Beyond the thrilling cricket action, let’s delve into the significance and format of the Asia Cup.

Understanding the Asia Cup:

The Asia Cup serves as a cornerstone for cricketing ties among Asian nations. It acts as a unifying force for the sport on the continent. The tournament is organized by the Asian Cricket Council (ACC), aiming to promote and develop cricket in Asia. It is a platform where the giants of Asian cricket come together to compete, fostering camaraderie and healthy competition.

The Format:

The Asia Cup typically adopts the One Day International (ODI) format, where each team plays a limited-overs match. In the 2023 edition, six formidable cricketing nations participated: Afghanistan, Bangladesh, India, Nepal, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka. These teams were divided into two groups, Group A and Group B, each consisting of three teams.

  • Group A: Comprised of Pakistan, India, and Nepal.
  • Group B: Consisted of Sri Lanka, Afghanistan, and Bangladesh.

The initial group stage sets the stage for intense competition, with each team vying to secure a spot in the coveted Super Four stage. The top two teams from each group advance to this stage, where they face off to determine the finalists.

In the Super Four stage, the four teams engage in further battles, striving to top the standings. The top two teams from the Super Four round earn the right to compete in the ultimate showdown, the Asia Cup final.

Also Read: Cricket Matches This Week: Previews of the upcoming matches

The Final Showdown:

The 2023 Asia Cup final was a testament to the spirit of the competition. Sri Lanka, after winning the toss, chose to bat first but struggled immensely. They managed a mere 50 runs before losing all their wickets in just 15.2 overs. India’s formidable bowling attack, led by Mohammed Siraj, dismantled the Sri Lankan batting lineup, with Siraj claiming six crucial wickets. Kusal Mendis emerged as the highest scorer for Sri Lanka, contributing 17 runs.

In response, India’s opening duo, Ishan Kishan and Shubman Gill, exhibited exceptional batting prowess. Kishan remained unbeaten with 23 runs off 18 balls, while Gill showcased his skills with an impressive 27 runs off 19 balls. India chased down the 51-run target without losing a wicket in a mere 6.1 overs, securing a convincing 10-wicket victory.

The Dominance of India:

Throughout the Asia Cup 2023, India’s bowling was consistently outstanding, with standout performances from Mohammed Siraj, Jasprit Bumrah, and Hardik Pandya. Their comprehensive win in the final underscored India’s dominance in the tournament, cementing their status as champions of the Asia Cup.

Top Wicket-Takers:

Matheesha Pathirana of Sri Lanka emerged as the leading wicket-taker in Asia Cup 2023, claiming a remarkable 11 wickets during the tournament. His crucial breakthroughs proved vital for Sri Lanka. India’s Mohammed Siraj entered the list with his exceptional spell of six wickets in the final, finishing the tournament with 10 wickets to his name.

Dunith Wellalage, a promising all-rounder from Sri Lanka, secured the third position in the list of leading wicket-takers with 10 wickets. His contributions with both bat and ball were instrumental for Sri Lanka. Pakistan’s left-arm pacer, Shaheen Afridi, held the fourth position with 10 wickets. Indian spinner Kuldeep Yadav rounded out the top five with 9 wickets in his name.

Here is the List of Top Wicket-Takers from Asia Cup 2023 

Rank Player Team Wickets Matches
1 Matheesha Pathirana Sri Lanka 11 6
2 Mohammed Siraj India 10 5
3 Dunith Wellalage Sri Lanka 10 6
4 Shaheen Afridi Pakistan 10 5
5 Kuldeep Yadav India 9 5
6 Haris Rauf Pakistan 9 4
7 Taskin Ahmed Bangladesh 9 4
8 Maheesh Theekshana Sri Lanka 8 5
9 Shoriful Islam Bangladesh 7 4
10 Naseem Shah Pakistan 7 4


In conclusion, the Asia Cup 2023 showcased the essence of cricketing camaraderie and fierce competition among Asian nations. India’s resounding victory in the final was a testament to their cricketing prowess and the spirit of the Asia Cup. This tournament continues to be a beacon of hope for cricket in Asia, uniting nations through the love of the game.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More