IPL: Chennai Super Kings overcome Delhi Capitals to be the first finalists of the tournament

Ruturaj Gaikwad produced another magnificent knock scoring 70 runs off 50 balls along with Robin Uthappa who gathered 63 runs off 44 balls. Captain Chino rolled back time to finish off the match.

Chennai Super Kings defeat Delhi Capitals

Chennai Super Kings beat Delhi Capitals for the first time in five meetings to get into the final of Vivo IPL 2021. The three-times champion beat Delhi with two balls to spare. Dhoni finished off the match in a vintage performance at the death overs.

Delhi Capitals score 173

Delhi Capitals started off with a stutter as Shikar Dhawan was caught behind Josh Hazlewood’s delivery.

Meanwhile, Prithvi Shaw was the aggressor for the Capitals as the Mumbai-born batter made his way to a quickfire fifty. Shreyas Iyer got out after a struggling inning of eight balls where he managed just a single run. He too like Dhawan lost his wicket to Hazlewood.

Prithvi Shaw and Axar Patel held a cameo partnership for the next four overs. However, Delhi Capitals lost two wickets in quick succession in the 10th and 11th over.

Axar Patel lost his wicket to Moeen Ali in the fourth ball of the 10th over. Subsequently, Prithvi Shaw got out of Jadeja’s ball.

Pant and Hetmeyer steady Delhi

As a result, Delhi Capitals was left with two new batsmen in the middle with Rishabh Pant and Shimran Hetmeyer holding down the fort.

Both batsmen held a crucial and wonderful partnership for the fifth wicket, scoring 83 runs off 50 balls.

Hetmeyer got out in the second last over of Bravo’s delivery.

Pant helped Delhi Capitals to a formidable total of 172 and completed his half-century in the process. He scored 51 runs of 35 deliveries hitting three fours and two sixes.

Chennai Super Kings

Chennai Super Kings was given a target of 173. Dhoni’s men came into the match having an unsuccessful last few ventures against Delhi’s bowling attack.

It looked to continue as Faf Du Plessis got out in the first over of the innings as Nortje bowled him out.

Valiant Effort from Gaikwad and Uthappa

However, CSK managed to turn the game around as Robin Uthappa and Ruturaj Gaikwad built a 100 run partnership before the 14th over. Uthappa was the aggressor of the two, with Gaikwad content in playing an anchoring role.

Uthappa got out of Tom Curran’s delivery in the 14th over after getting caught by Shreyas Iyer. Shreyas Iyer’s catch was brilliant as he very nearly escaped touching the boundary line. Iyer took the catch cleanly, went off balance, threw the ball in the air to save six runs, jumped outside the boundary, came back in, and collected the catch calmly.

Surprisingly, Shardul Thakur was sent in at no.4 to bat. However, the bowler got out on his very first ball of Tom Curran’s very next delivery. Shreyas Iyer once again took the catch.

Ambati Rayudu was the next to walk in. The in-form batsman got out after scoring a single run after an ill-fated attempt of a double resulted in a run-out.

Moeen Ali and Ruturaj Gaikwad put up a 30 run partnership for the fifth wicket and helped CSK to 149 runs. Dhoni’s men required 24 runs off 12 balls. Ruturaj Gaikwad got out of Nortje’s very first delivery in the 19th over. The young batsman scored 70 runs off 50 balls in yet another inspiring performance.

Dhoni enters the pitch

Dhoni walked into the middle next. The captain known for his finishing ability in pressure situations found his mojo back as he slapped the South African bowler for six runs over mid-wicket in the longest boundary side.

Moeen Ali got a boundary of his own helping CSK to get 11 runs off the penultimate over.

Pant called on Tom Curran to bowl the final over. The English man took the wicket of his fellow international teammate, Moeen Ali of the first ball of the final over. Leaving CSK to get 13 off 5 deliveries.

Meanwhile, Dhoni came on strike. The former Indian captain hit a boundary in the very next delivery over the covers and scored another four after a lucky inside edge. With five runs required of the final three deliveries, Tom Curran bowled a wide delivery piling up the pressure on Delhi.

Dhoni pulled one to the leg side to score the winning runs, taking his team to yet another final.

9th Final

This is CSK’s 9th final in the 13 seasons the franchise has played. CSK has also reached the playoffs a total of 12 times, a league record. They have won three titles so far, looking to add another. They face the team which wins the second qualifier which takes place on Wednesday. The final is to take place on Friday.





This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More