Chennaiyin FC Unveils Squad for Indian Super League 2023-24 Season

Chennaiyin FC announces a diverse 29-member squad for the upcoming Indian Super League 2023-24 season, emphasizing the development of young Indian talent.

Chennaiyin FC has revealed its squad for the 2023-24 Indian Super League (ISL) season, comprising 29 players. The squad represents a balanced mix of seasoned players and promising young talents, aligning with Chennaiyin’s commitment to nurturing and fostering young Indian footballers to contribute to the growth of Indian football.

Owen Coyle, the head coach of Chennaiyin FC, emphasized the club’s distinctive approach to player development. He stated, “Our model at Chennaiyin is different from those big spenders. We invest strategically, particularly in young players. I have a history of providing opportunities to young players and nurturing Indian talent, and that’s a philosophy we will continue to uphold. Our squad boasts a strong blend of experience and youth.”

To foster leadership within the team, the club has designated a six-member leadership group that will serve as the driving force behind the squad. The captain’s armband will be shared among Jordan Murray, Ryan Edwards, Aakash Sangwan, Lazar Cirkovic, Rafael Crivellaro, and Rahim Ali.


Chennaiyin FC, a two-time champion, is set to commence its ISL 2023-24 campaign with two away matches against Odisha FC (today) and NorthEast United FC (on September 29). Following these away fixtures, the team will return home to host Mohun Bagan Super Giant FC on October 7, marking their third game of the season.

Squad: Goalkeepers: Samik Mitra, Debjit Majumder, Prateek Kumar Singh, Mohanraj K

Defenders: Ankit Mukherjee, Ryan Edwards, Lazar Cirkovic, Ajith Kumar, Bikash Yumnam, Bijay Chhetri, Aakash Sangwan, Sarthak Golui, Sachu Siby, RS Preyarhanjan

Midfielders: Jiteshwor Singh, Cristian Battocchio, Mohammed Rafique, Ayush Adhikari, Rafael Crivellaro, Ninthoi Meetei, Alexander Romario Jesuraj, Sourav Das, Farukh Choudhary, Nesta JP Colin

Forwards: Vincy Barretto, Rahim Ali, Irfan Yadwad, Jordan Murray, Connor Shields


This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More