Diana Puketapu-Lyndon Makes History as First Female Chair at New Zealand Cricket

Diana Puketapu-Lyndon becomes the first woman to chair New Zealand Cricket, as Martin Snedden steps down to ensure a smooth transition. Historic moment in NZC’s leadership.

New Zealand Cricket (NZC) announced a historic shift as Diana Puketapu-Lyndon is set to become the new Chair, making her the first woman to hold this position in the organization’s history. The transition comes as Martin Snedden, who still has a year left as a director on the Board, steps down from his role as Chair to facilitate a seamless handover to the deputy chair, Puketapu-Lyndon.

Snedden, a former CEO of NZC with three terms as a director, stated that his decision to step down as Board Chair and NZC’s representative on the ICC Board is motivated by the need for effective governance succession planning and a chance to introduce new leadership. He mentioned, “Both these decisions have been taken in the name of ensuring good, sound governance succession planning, as well as taking advantage of what is an excellent opportunity for a leadership refresh.”

NZC Board member Roger Twose will assume the role of NZC’s representative to the ICC by the end of the month. Snedden plans to continue supporting Diana and Roger during the next 12 months before his final term as an NZC director concludes at the 2024 AGM.


Also Read: Men’s ODI WC: ‘Dropped catches cost us’, says Afghanistan captain Shahidi after Australia escape to victory from 91/7

Diana Puketapu-Lyndon, who has been on the NZC Board since 2017 and is the second longest-serving director, brings extensive commercial and sporting administrative experience to her new position. She has served as Chief Financial Officer in America’s Cup sailing campaigns on two occasions and has experience as a Director of the World Masters Games.

Additional changes to the NZC Board include the election of former Olympian Alison Shanks and former Central Districts chair Mike Devonshire as directors. Rebecca Rolls has chosen to retire by rotation, while Puketapu-Lyndon and Anna Campbell have been re-elected by rotation.

Moreover, the NZC AGM saw the election of former White Ferns Maia Lewis and Amy Satterthwaite, and former BlackCaps batter Ross Taylor as life members of NZC. Former White Ferns Kirsty Bond and Katrina Kennan, former BlackCaps Mark Greatbatch and Chris Harris, along with former coach Mike Hesson, have been appointed as honorary members.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More