FIFA’s The Best Awards 2021: Nominees, Favorites and All the Information You Need

The Best FIFA Football Awards 2021 ceremony was virtually held in Zurich, Switzerland, to recognize outstanding players for outstanding achievement in 2021.

The Best FIFA Football Awards 2021 ceremony, honouring exceptional players for remarkable achievements in football, was virtually hosted in Zurich, Switzerland. The Best FIFA Players in men’s and women’s football were awarded to striker Robert Lewandowski of Bayern Munich and midfielder Alexia Putellas of Spain. After receiving the honour for the first time in 2020, Lewandowski earned the FIFA Men’s Best Player Award for the second consecutive year.

The Contenders for 2021’s Best Men’s Player of the Year

Finalists for the ceremony this year were announced on January 7, 2022, after nominees were announced on Monday, November 22, 2018. Mohamed Salah, Lionel Messi, and Robert Lewandowski are the contenders for the Best Men’s Player title in 2021. On the initial shortlist were players like Kylian Mbappe, Neymar, Karim Benzema, Jorginho, N’Golo Kante, Kevin De Bruyne, Cristiano Ronaldo, and Erling Haaland.


Candidates for the Best FIFA Men’s Coach Award in 2021

The three contenders for The Best FIFA Men’s Coach award are Thomas Tuchel, Pep Guardiola, and Roberto Mancini. While Tuchel oversaw Chelsea’s Champions League victory and Guardiola led Manchester City to a Premier League and League Cup double, Mancini led Italy to the European Championship title. Diego Simeone, Hansi Flick, Lionel Scaloni, and Antonio Conte were among the other candidates until the selection was whittled down to three.

The 2021 Nominees for Best FIFA Men’s Goalkeepers

The remaining three nominees are Gianluigi Donnarumma of Italy, Edouard Mendy of Chelsea, and Bayern Munich’s Manuel Neuer. Alisson, the goalie for Liverpool, and Kasper Schmeichel, a former player for Leicester City, were dropped from the shortlist.

FIFPro World 11 2021

The FIFPro World 11 is also revealed at each The Best awards ceremony, establishing the year’s best “dream team.” Performances between October 8, 2020, and August 7, 2021, are considered for the award, decided by professional football players worldwide. Following their respective continental triumphs, players from Italy and Argentina’s national teams and those from Chelsea and Manchester City have a strong case for inclusion.

FIFA’s 2021 Puskas Award Nominees

The FIFA Puskas award finalists for 2021 were chosen from a long list of nominees released in November. The nominations include Patrik Schick’s outrageous long-range strike against Scotland at Euro 2020 and Erik Lamela’s goal for Tottenham against Arsenal. With his Champions League goal against Chelsea, Mehdi Taremi completes the field of contenders.

It was held to recognize exceptional football players for their extraordinary performance in the sport.

The winners in each category are listed below:

  • Robert Lewandowski, the Best FIFA Male Player (Bayern Munich, Poland)
  • Alexia Putellas is the Top FIFA Female Athlete (Barcelona, Spain)
  • Édouard Mendy is the Best Male Goalkeeper in FIFA (Chelsea, Senegal)
  • Christiane Endler is the Top FIFA Female Goalkeeper (Paris Saint-Germain and Lyon, Chile)
  • Thomas Tuchel is the Best FIFA Men’s Coach (Chelsea, Germany)
  • Emma Hayes is the Best FIFA Women’s Coach (Chelsea, England)
  • Denmark’s national football squad and medical personnel get the FIFA Fair Play Award.
  • Christine Sinclair, a female recipient of the FIFA Special Award and Cristiano Ronaldo (Male)

The Best Men’s Player and Women’s Players will be honoured as part of FIFA’s The Best awards, celebrating the best individual talents in all football.

“Get more sports news, cricket news, and football updates, log on to Follow us on Facebook or Twitter and Subscribe to our YouTube Channel.”

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More