Indian Motorcycle Racing Championship Round-4: Debut of Electric Bike at Madras International Circuit

The fourth round of the Indian Motorcycle Racing Championship 2023 at Madras International Circuit introduces an electric two-wheeler, TVS Apache RTE, and hosts various thrilling races.

The Indian Motorcycle Racing Championship 2023 is set to make history during its fourth round at the Madras International Circuit from September 29 to October 1. This round marks the debut of a battery-powered electric two-wheeler, specially designed for track racing, making it the first of its kind in India.

The spotlight will be on the TVS Apache RTE (Racing Throttle Electric), which will be showcased in action with eight carefully selected riders riding the 200cc bikes. They will participate in a distinct category known as the TVS E Invitation Race.

The electric bikes will undergo two practice sessions and qualifying practice, each lasting 12 minutes, to determine the starting grid for the four-lap race scheduled for Sunday.


The weekend’s racing program includes various thrilling races in different categories, such as the National Championship Pro-Stock Open (301-400cc and 165cc), Novice (Stock 165cc), and Girls (Stock 165cc) classes. Additionally, it features the Petronas TVS One-Make Championship (301-400cc Open and Girls) and the Idemitsu Honda India Talent Cup (NSF 250R).

Also Read:How to make a career in Sports Talent Management? Here is a guide

In total, there are 18 races scheduled for this round, and it has garnered more than 150 entries, aligning with the season’s trend.

In the National championship arena, Rajiv Sethu from Chennai, representing RACR Castrol Power1, leads in both the premier Pro-Stock classes, the 301-400cc and 165cc categories. He has achieved a remarkable five consecutive victories in the former and one in the latter, surpassing strong competitors from Petronas TVS Racing and Pacer Yamaha.

Hyderabad’s Vignesh Goud, a member of the Race’ists Motorcycle Club, holds a strong position in the Novice (Stock 165cc) category with five wins. In the Girls class (Stock 165cc), Anne Jennifer from Alpha Racing and Lani Zena from Puducherry’s RACR Castrol Power1 are separated by just three points, creating an intense competition.

Also Read: Indian Badminton Players Gear Up for Asian Games 2023 in China

The Idemitsu Honda India Talent Cup (NSF 250R) showcases some of the most promising young riders. Among them, Kavin Quintal from Chennai stands out with three wins out of four starts, leading the table and showing improvement with each race.

In the Petronas TVS One-Make Championship, Alwin Sundar from Chennai leads the Open (301-400cc) category, while Nithila Das from Bengaluru tops the Girls (RTR 200) class in terms of points.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More