Know About Football Fan Award – FIFA World Cup Records and Statistics

Regardless of league level, gender, or nationality, FIFA created the award in 2016 to recognise an exceptional moment or deed by any fan or fan group.

Each year, the association football league’s governing body, FIFA, presents the Best FIFA Football Awards. On January 9, 2017, Zürich, Switzerland, hosted the first award ceremony. The prize is intended to revitalise the FIFA World Player Gala.

Even though FIFA no longer administers the prestigious Ballon d’Or, the awkwardly named Best FIFA Football Awards are still a significant event each year. The FIFPro World XI, the Puskas Award, and the Best Women’s player are just a few of the prestigious awards given out in addition to the Best Men’s Player award.

How can you win a FIFA Football Award?


After the 1990 World Cup in Italy, FIFA made the decision to start its own ceremony to honour the world’s top player each year. In 2001, a women’s award and several other trophies were added as it began to gain popularity.

Currently, there are nine accolades and a FIFPro 11. These awards are the Best FIFA Men’s Player, Best FIFA Women’s Player, Best FIFA Men’s Coach, Best FIFA Women’s Coach, FIFA Fair Play Award, FIFA Puskas Award, FIFA Fan Award, Best FIFA Men’s Goalkeeper, and Best FIFA Women’s Goalkeeper.

Who casts the ballots for The Best FIFA Football Awards?

The Best FIFA Football Awards, in contrast to the Ballon d’Or, allow fans to participate in the voting process, giving the populace a voice. For instance, fans can vote online for one of the 11 finalists for the FIFA Puskas Award, which is decided after a panel of experts selects the final trio.

A panel of football experts casts the other 50% of the votes, which together with the votes from the fans determines the winner. Journalists, coaches, or players do not have any influence on who wins the FIFA Fan Award; the decision is made entirely by the audience. The top three moments are chosen, and online fan voting determines the winner.

Additionally, fans have the opportunity to vote for the Best FIFA Men’s and Women’s Coach, Best FIFA Men’s and Women’s Goalkeeper, and Best FIFA Men’s and Women’s Player. Voters can select their top three favourites from each category, with the top choice earning five points, second place earning three points, and third place earning one point.

The other 75% of the vote is cast by national coaches of FIFA Member Associations, team captains, and a select group of media from those nations, with 25% of the vote coming from fans. A month before the awards ceremony, there is typically a two-week voting period.

Previously crowned FIFA World Player of the Year and Best FIFA Men’s Player

Year Winner
1991 Lothar Matthaus (Germany)
1992 Marco van Basten (Netherlands)
1993 Roberto Baggio (Italy)
1994 Romario (Brazil)
1995 George Weah (Liberia)
1996 Ronaldo (Brazil)
1997 Ronaldo (Brazil)
1998 Zinedine Zidane (France)
1999 Rivaldo (Brazil)
2000 Zinedine Zidane (France)
2001 Luis Figo (Portugal)
2002 Ronaldo (Brazil)
2003 Zinedine Zidane (France)
2004 Ronaldinho (Brazil)
2005 Ronaldinho (Brazil)
2006 Fabio Cannavaro (Italy)
2007 Kaka (Brazil)
2008 Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal)
2009 Lionel Messi (Argentina)
2010 Lionel Messi (Argentina)
2011 Lionel Messi (Argentina)
2012 Lionel Messi (Argentina)
2013 Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal)
2014 Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal)
2015 Lionel Messi (Argentina)
2016 Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal)
2017 Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal)
2018 Luka Modric (Croatia)
2019 Lionel Messi (Argentina)
2020 Robert Lewandowski (Poland)
2021 Robert Lewandowski (Poland)

“Get more sports news, cricket news, and football updates, log on to Follow us on Facebook or Twitter and Subscribe to our YouTube Channel.”

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More