Lionel Messi and Aitana Bonmati Crowned Best FIFA Players at “The Best” Awards Ceremony

FIFA’s “The Best” Awards witness Lionel Messi and Aitana Bonmati’s stellar triumphs, while Guardiola, Ederson, and Wiegman take home coaching honors.

In a star-studded event, FIFA’s “The Best” ceremony on Monday celebrated the outstanding achievements in football, recognizing the crème de la crème of the sport.

Men’s Winners:

Lionel Messi, the prolific Argentine, secured the coveted title of Best Player, showcasing his unparalleled skill and contributions. The Best Coach honor went to Pep Guardiola, the Spanish mastermind behind Manchester City’s triumphant season, while Ederson, the agile Brazilian goalkeeper, claimed the Best Goalkeeper award.


Guilherme Madruga’s sublime goal for Botafogo earned him the prestigious Puskas Award and the Fair Play Award was bestowed upon the Brazilian men’s senior team. The Team of the Year boasted a powerhouse lineup featuring Thibaut Courtois, Kyle Walker, John Stones, Ruben Dias, Bernardo Silva, Jude Bellingham, Kevin De Bruyne, Lionel Messi, Erling Haaland, Kylian Mbappe, and Vinicius Junior.

Women’s Winners:

Aitana Bonmati, the skillful Spanish player from Barcelona, was crowned the Best Player, while Sarina Wiegman, hailing from the Netherlands and coaching England, claimed the Best Coach title. Mary Earps, the agile goalkeeper from England’s Manchester United, won the Best Goalkeeper award.

The Women’s Team of the Year showcased incredible talent, with players like Olga Carmona, Lucy Bronze, Alex Greenwood, Keira Walsh, Alessia Russo, Lauren James, Ella Toone, Aitana Bonmati, Alex Morgan, and Sam Kerr making their mark.

Note on Award Periods:

For women’s accolades, the award period it spanned from August 1, 2022, to August 20, 2023. Meanwhile, for men’s prizes, the eligible period was from December 19, 2022, to August 20, 2023.


This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More