Shreyas Iyer set to boost Mumbai’s Ranji Trophy campaign against Andhra Pradesh

Shreyas Iyer’s inclusion in Mumbai’s Ranji Trophy squad is poised to impact their upcoming game against Andhra Pradesh.

Indian middle-order batsman Shreyas Iyer is all set to join Mumbai in their upcoming Ranji Trophy match against Andhra Pradesh, scheduled from January 12-15 at the MCA Sharad Pawar Cricket Academy Ground in Mumbai’s Bandra Kurla Complex.

Mumbai, a dominant force with 41 Ranji Trophy titles, commenced the 2023/24 season with an impressive victory over Bihar in Patna, securing a win by an innings and 51 runs at the Moin ul Haq Stadium and earning seven crucial points.

Iyer’s return to the Ranji Trophy lineup follows his exclusion from India’s forthcoming three-match T20I series against Afghanistan, commencing on January 11 in Mohali. His recent performance in the Test series against South Africa was less than stellar, with scores of 31, 6, 0, and an unbeaten 4 in Centurion and Cape Town.


Having last played a Ranji Trophy game for Mumbai in 2018, Iyer’s participation against Andhra Pradesh in his hometown is an opportunity for him to gain valuable red-ball match practice before India’s crucial five-match Test series against England, beginning on January 25 in Hyderabad. The squad selection for this series is anticipated in the following days.

In absence of batsman Sarfaraz Khan and pacer Tushar Deshpande, representing India ‘A’ in matches against England Lions, Mumbai has included fast bowler Sylvester Dsouza and opener Amogh Bhatkal in their squad. Ajinkya Rahane, the skipper, missed the opening fixture against Bihar due to a neck injury but is set to lead the team against Andhra Pradesh.

Andhra Pradesh enters the clash against Mumbai after securing three points by taking the first-innings lead against Bengal in Visakhapatnam.

Mumbai’s Ranji Trophy squad for the match against Andhra Pradesh includes: Ajinkya Rahane (c), Shreyas Iyer, Jay Bista, Bhupen Lalwani, Amogh Bhatkal, Suved Parkar, Prasad Pawar (wk), Hardik Tamore (wk), Shams Mulani, Tanush Kotian, Atharva Ankolekar, Mohit Awasthi, Dhaval Kulkarni, Roystan Dias, and Sylvester Dsouza.


This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More