The FIFA Puskas Awards – Records and Statistics Revealed

Each year, the world’s most popular sport honours its top performers with the Best FIFA Football Awards. In addition to being a celebration in which football fans are acknowledged and take an essential and active role, they also serve as the highest honour for coaches and players.

The Best FIFA Football Awards, which debuted in 2016, heralded a new era in which the best players in the world of football were recognized. Fans were more involved than ever in the inaugural ceremony, which took place in the TPC-Studios in Zurich and identified the top men’s and women’s football players and coaches based on votes they had cast in 2016. The FIFA Fan Award was presented for the first time to recognize great fan acts.

About FIFA Puskas Award

The FIFA Puskás Award was instituted by the Fédération Internationale de Football Association (FIFA) on October 20, 2009, at the request of then-president Sepp Blatter, and is given to the male or female player who is deemed to have scored the year’s most aesthetically pleasing goal.


Ferenc Puskás, a striker for Real Madrid in the late 1950s and early 1960s and a vital component of the highly effective Hungarian team of the same era, is the award recipient. Many believe Puskás to be the most potent and productive forward European football has ever produced in first-division football. In 1997, the IFFHS recognized Puskás as the finest top-tier striker of the 20th century. Pukás scored 511 goals. In 533 games, Puskás scored 511 goals, setting a world record of 84 goals in 85 games for the national team at the time.

“It’s important to remember those legendary football players who have contributed to our history. Ferenc Puskás was a remarkable man in addition to being a player with extraordinary talent and many awards. FIFA is thus pleased to honour him by dedicating this award to his memory. “Blatter made this statement in Budapest at the award’s inauguration.

Until 2018, the winner was entirely selected by fan voting on the FIFA website. FIFA revised the process, though, in response to a scandal surrounding the 2018 award. The FIFA-selected pundits who now choose the winner will do so based on the top three goals that the public voted for.

July 2008 to July 2009 was the period for the first award. The annual prize was first given at the 2009 FIFA World Player of the Year Gala on December 21 in Switzerland, and Portuguese player Cristiano Ronaldo took home the top honour.

FIFA Puskas Award winners through the years are listed here:

  • Cristiano Ronaldo – 2009
  • Hamit Altintop – 2010
  • Neymar – 2011
  • Miroslav Stoch – 2012
  • Zlatan Ibrahimovic – 2012
  • James Rodriguez – 2014
  • Wendell Lira – 2015
  • Olivier Giroud – 2017
  • Mohamed Salah – 2017
  • Daniel Zsori – 2019
  • Erik Manuel Lamela Cordero – 2021

A Puskas Award-winning goal should, by FIFA’s standards, be an incredible goal that was scored in a crucial game without the aid of luck but rather in a way that supported a play. The following list of legendary soccer players who have received the Puskas Award is based on recent data analysis. The Puskas Award is given to the goal with the most significant visual impact, though it can be difficult to objectively judge a goal’s beauty. 

“Get more sports news, cricket news, and football updates, log on to Follow us on Facebook or Twitter and Subscribe to our YouTube Channel.”

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More