WBBL|07: Sydney Thunder emerge as winners in derby clash, beat Sydney Sixers by 6 wickets

At the ongoing WBBL|07, another low total for Sydney Sixers as Sydney Thunder’s bowling unit restricted them to just 94. Comfortably chased down due to the courtesy of Smriti Mandhana’s 45 (off 39 balls).

The 46th Match of the Weber WBBL|07 was a Sydney Sixers vs Sydney Thunder encounter played on Sunday, 14th November 2021 at the Great Barrier Reef Arena, Mackay in Australia.

Also known as the 2021–22 Women’s Big Bash League, is in its seventh season. And is being played from 14th October to 27th November 2021, with eight teams and a total of 59 matches.

Line-Up for Sydney Sixers vs Sydney Thunder – WBBL|07

Sydney Sixers Women won the toss and elected to bat.

Sydney Sixers Innings

By the end of the powerplay, 3 wickets have fallen. With an early setback for Sixers in form of Run Out as Shafali Verma walks back due to a direct hit by fellow Indian Teammate Deepti Sharma. Sydney Sixers was 13/1 (4.2 overs).

However, Issy Wong then picked 2 consecutive wickets in the last over of the powerplay. As she dismissed Alyssa Healy and Ashleigh Gardner and Sixers were 22/3 in 5.6 overs.

Then Thunder’s skipper Hannah Darlington bowled out Nicole Bolton. With that, after 15 overs Sydney Sixers were at 63/4.

In the end, 2 wickets fall in quick succession of Angela Reakes and Maitlan Brown and they were 88/6 (19.3 overs). Meanwhile, Ellyse Perry’s 40* (off 40 balls) helped put 94/6 (20 overs) on the board for Sydney Sixers.

Sydney Thunder’s Target is 95 Runs

Chasing a low total, Sydney Thunder did lose 2 early wickets. With Lauren Cheatle dismissing both Sammy-Jo Johnson and Phoebe Litchfield. Sydney Thunder was 24/2 (4.4 overs).

However, a 53 run stand between Smriti Mandhana and Corinne Hall saved the innings. Just after that, both lost their wickets as Cheatle picked her 3rd Wicket by dismissing Hall. Whereas, Mandhana on 45 (off 39 balls) was dismissed by Stella Campbell. Sydney Thunder was at 90/4 in 14.2 overs.

Thus, just 5 Runs was needed in the end. Tahlia Wilson and Deepti Sharma remained unbeaten as they guided their team to victory. Sydney Thunder finished their innings at 96/4 (15.2 overs).

As a result, Sydney Thunder Women won the match by 6 wickets. Hence, the Player of the Match was awarded to Issy Wong – 2/27.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More