Men’s T20 World Cup: Australia beat New Zealand by 8 wickets , clinched their maiden Title

At the 2021 T20 World Cup final, an excellent run-chase by Australia crushed New Zealand as they were beaten by 8 Wickets. Josh Hazlewood, David Warner and Mitchell Marsh share the spotlight after their great performances.

The 45th Match of the 2021 T20 World Cup was the final  match between New Zealand vs Australia  played on Sunday, 14th November 2021 at the Dubai International Stadium, United Arab Emirates.

Both teams were contesting for their maiden T20 World Cup Title. Australia were runners-up in the 2010 T20 World Cup. Meanwhile, for New Zealand, this is their 1st appearance in the final of the Men’s T20 World Cup. Thus, a first-time winner will be crowned.

Line-Up for New Zealand vs Australia – Final of 2021 T20 World Cup

Australia won the toss & chose to bowl.

Australia beat New Zealand by 8 wickets in the Final

1st Innings – New Zealand puts 172 Runs on the board

New Zealand lost a wicket in the powerplay, Daryl Mitchell 11 (off 8 balls) was caught behind by Matthew Wade, with Josh Hazlewood picking the wicket. NZ was 28/1 (3.5 overs).

Meanwhile, after the powerplay, they were 32/1. Josh Hazlewood was excellent in the first six overs with 1/11 in his 3 overs. With this, no bowler had more wickets in the Powerplay than Hazlewood’s 7 at the ongoing World Cup. 

Adam Zampa,then dismissed Martin Guptill on 28 (off 35 balls) as Marcus Stoinis was at the receiving end of the catch. New Zealand were 76/2 in 11.1 overs.

But it was Hazlewood again for the Aussies as he picked two wickets in an over. He dismissed Glenn Phillips on 18 (17) & Kane Williamson who scored a brilliant 85 (off 48 balls) and had the joint-highest score in a T20 WC final. New Zealand were 148/4 (17.5 overs).

In the end, James Neesham’s 13* & Tim Seifert’s 8* lead them to put up 172/4 (20 overs) on the board for New Zealand.

2nd Innings – Australia’s Target is 173 Runs

The Aussies lost an early wicket of skipper, Aaron Finch and were 15/1 (2.3 overs). Meanwhile, after the powerplay, they scored 43/1.

After 10 overs, Australia were in a great position at 82/1 and in command of the run chase. The 92 run partnership between David Warner and Mitchell Marsh ended as Trent Boult bowled out Warner on 53 (off 38 balls). Aussie were 107/2 in 12.2 overs.

Marsh created a record, as he hit a 31-ball fifty, the fastest in a men’s T20 World Cup final. In the end, Mitchell Marsh’s 77* (off 50 balls) and Glenn Maxwell’s 28* (off 18 balls) guided Australia to their Maiden T20 World Cup Title. Aussie finished their innings at 173/2 (18.5 overs).

As a result, Australia won the match by 8 Wickets. Hence, the Player of the Match was awarded to Mitchell Marsh – 77* (off 50 balls).

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More