The last 5 WWE Superstars who won the Universal Championship 

In this article, we mention the last 5 superstar who won the universal championship before Cody Rhodes in WWE

After a convincing win over Roman Reigns at WrestleMania XL, Cody Rhodes completed his dream and became the new undisputed champion. But before his momentous victory, the universal championship saw some unanticipated opponents. Here are the last 5 WWE superstars who won the Universal Championship before Cody Rhodes: 

List of Universal Champions in WWE: 

Location Universal Championship Date Show
Brooklyn, NY Finn Balor August 21, 2016 SummerSlam
Houston, TX Kevin Owens August 29, 2016 Raw
Milwaukee, WI Goldberg March 5, 2017 Fastlane
Orlando, FL Brock Lesner April 2, 2017 WrestleMania 33
Brooklyn, NY Roman Reigns August 19, 2018 SummerSlam
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia Brock Lesner November 2, 2018 Crown Jewel
East Rutherford, NJ Seth Rollins April 7, 2019 WrestleMania 35
Philadelphia, PA Brock Lesnar July 14, 2019 Extreme Rules
Toronto, ON, Canada Seth Rollins August 11, 2019 SummerSlam
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia “The Fiend” Bray Wyatt October 31, 2019 Crown Jewel
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia Goldberg February 27, 2020 Super ShowDown
Orlando, FL Braun Strowman March 25 or 26, 2020 WrestleMania 36, Part 1
Orlando, FL “The Fiend” Bray Wyatt August 23, 2020 SummerSlam
Orlando, FL Roman Reigns August 30, 2020 Payback
Philadelphia, PA Cody Rhodes April 7, 2024 WrestleMania XL


  • Roman Reigns
  • The Fiend Bray Wyatt
  • Braun Strowman
  • Goldberg
  • Seth Rollins

Roman Reigns

Roman Reigns 

Roman Reigns has been the Universal Champion for the longest time in the history of WWE. He held the Universal Championship for 1316 days. This year, Cody Rhodes won this title by defeating him in Wrestlemania XL.

Also Read: “I’m Going To Rip Him In Half….” –  Braun Strowman Threatens 34-year-old WWE Superstar

Bray Wyatt

“The Fiend” Bray Wyatt

Bray Wyatt’s sinister alter ego, “The Fiend,” brought a chilling twist to the Universal Championship picture. He captured the title twice, his eerie presence and unpredictable matches, made him a unique champion. 

Braun Strowman

Braun Strowman 

A true underdog story unfolded when Braun Strowman, the “Monster Among Men,” cashed in his Money in the Bank briefcase to become Universal Champion at WrestleMania 36. The colossal Superstar’s victory shocked the WWE Universe, proving that size and strength could overcome the odds.

Also Read: What is the Difference Between WWE and WWF?



In 2020, the well-known Goldberg surprised everyone by returning and winning the Universal Championship twice, defeating The Fiend. But his reign was similar to his previous in that it ended after a short while when he lost the title to Braun Strowman. Still, there was an inkling of his previous dominance upon his comeback.


Seth Rollins

Seth Rollins Universal Championship reign may have been short, but it was impactful. He defeated Brock Lesnar at WrestleMania 35, a victory fueled by years of relentles pursuit. However, his reign was cut short by an injury paving the way for The Find to claim the gold.

These five superstars represent the unpredictable nature of the Universal Championship. From dominant reigns like Roman to shocking victories like Strowman, the title has seen a variety of champions. As Cody Rhodes begins his era, one can only wonder what surprises the Universal Championship will hold next. Roman did not appear in WWE after the loss against Cody Rhodes.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More