Have look at who has been the best skipper in the history of IPL

IPL is a game in which match stance can change at any moment and leading a team in such a big tournament isn’t a child’s play. The role of a skipper is of utmost importance in this game, given that there’s no guarantee that who’s going to win or what is going to happen when the ball hits the bat.

The franchises also do not allow players to stay if they cannot prove themselves as a captain.

Yet, there have been cricketers who have served their purpose in their teams and have been consistent with their performances. This article will help you know about 5 such players who have been consistent and proved themselves as a deserving player at every moment of their gameplay.

5. Cameron White – 58.33

Cameron White, the former Australian Player who has been a part of RCB, Deccan Chargers and Sunrisers Hyderabad in the IPL seasons, took over as the captain of Deccan Chargers in mid-season from Kumar Sangakkara in IPL 2012. Following the season, in 2013 he then took over as the captain of SRH. In the same season, out of 12 matches, 7 were won by his tem that marks his success percentage at 58.33 in the tournament.

4. MS Dhoni – 58.11

MS Dhoni, being the only player who has started as a captain of Chennai Super KIngs in 2008 edition and is still constant with his role for the team. Chennai Super Kings has won 3 IPl trophies under his captaincy in the year 2010, 2011 and 2018. Dhoni has lead CSk in 188 matches and has marked a win in 110 out of it taking his winning percentage to 58.11. The only time he couldn’t manage to stay in the playoffs were in the year 2016 and 2020. Dhoni also holds the record as being played the most number of matches as a captain.

3. Sachin Tendulkar – 58.82

Though Sachin Tendulkar didn’t achieve much cas the skipper of Indian Team but he has played an extensive role as a captain of Mumbai Indians team. Under his captaincy, MI managed to reach the finals in the year 2010 where they had to face defeat from CSK. Sachin has lead Mumbai Indians for 51 matches out of which they have won 30 and this takes Sachin’s win percentage to toll of 58.82. After Sachin retired, Rohit Sharma took over as the Captain of MI.

2. Steve Smith – 59.52

Steve Smith has been a remarkable player in both T20s and international cricket matches. He proved himself in Pune’s team when he had to take over the captaincy from MS Dhoni in the year 2017. He has also led Rajasthan Royals in a number of seasons. Winning 25 matches out of 42, in which he had the role of skipper, makes him the second most successful captain in the IPL seasons with a win percentage of 59.52.

1. Rohit Sharma – 60.34

Mumbai Indians has won 5 IPL trophies with Rohit Sharma leading them from the front. Sharma has been the skipper of MI since 8 years and it makes him the best captain in the tournament history. With a win percentage f 60.34, he has led MI in 116 matches winning 70 of it. MI has earned trophies under his captainship in 2013, 2015, 2017, 2019 and 2020.

Player Matches Won Lost
Rohit Sharma 116 70 45
Steve Smith 42 25 16
Sachin Tendulkar 51 30 21
MS Dhoni 188 110 77
Cameron White 12 7 5

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More