Sacramento Kings Team Profile and Analysis – Western Conference: Pacific Division NBA Teams

Sacramento Kings is an American professional basketball team that plays in the National Basketball Association (NBA) as the Pacific division of Western Conference. The team is based in Sacramento, California.

The Sacramento Kings is the oldest team in the NBA. The Kings is the first and only team in the major professional North American sports leagues to be located in Sacramento.

Sacramento Kings

Sacramento Kings is an American basketball team which plays in the Pacific Division of Western Conference of the National Basketball Association. The Kings play their home games from Golden 1 Center situated in California. The team began with a semi-professional team known as Rochester Seagrams, which was founded in 1923. The franchise joined the National Basketball Association in 1945 and was renamed as Rochester Royals. Lester Harrison was one of the initial players of the team who later became the team’s coach, captain, manager, and chief scout for the two decades. 

Harrison admitted a few other players in the team. They were- Bob Davies, William “Fuzzy” Levane and Red Holzman. They played their first NBA Championship in 1945-46 and won with the help of above-mentioned players. The team then again won the NBA Championship in 1951 and defeated the team New York Knicks. It was the only franchise’s win in the league’s History. Bobby Wanzer became the team’s new coach in 1955. In 1957, the Kings relocated to Cincinnati and thus became Cincinnati Royals. During the NBA draft in Cincinnati, the team admitted guard George King and Clyde Lovellette.

During 1960-70, Robertson was a team lead and included players- Twyman, Wayne Embry, Tom Hawkins, Bucky Bockhorn, Bob Boozer, and Adrian Smith in the team. Jerry Lucas, an American professional basketball player, also joined the team in 1963.  In 1972, the team was renamed as Kansas City–Omaha Kings after moving to Kansas City, Missouri. It was in the 1984-85 season that the team moved to their current location- Sacramento and were finally given their present name- Sacramento Kings. Vinny Del Negro was drafted by the team in 1988 NBA draft and Rodney McCray was also acquired from the Houston Rockets. Also, the team has lost 16 consecutive league seasons since 2006. 

The Kings acquired the player Spencer Hawes (with the 10th overall pick) in the 2007 NBA draft.  It was in the 2016-17 season that the team changed its arena to Golden 1 centre. The team drafted Kentucky point guard De’Aaron. Fox in the 2017 NBA draft and Marvin Bagley III in 2018 NBA draft. 

Until 1990, the colour scheme of Sacramento Kings’ uniform was red, white and blue. Then in 1994, the team adopted a new colour scheme of purple, silver, black and white. Earlier, the mascot of the team was “The Gorilla” but since the 1997-98 season, the mascot of Kings is “Slamson the Lion”. 

The team colours of the Sacramento Kings are:

  • Purple
  • Slate
  • Gray
  • Black

List of last five seasons completed by the team is:

  • 2017-18
  • 2018-19
  • 2019-20
  • 2020-21
  • 2021-22

Here is a list of arenas of the Kings:

The basic information of the team is:

  • Main sponsor: Dialpad
  • President:  John Rinehart
  • General manager: Monte McNair
  • Arena: Golden 1 Center
  • Head coach:  Mike Brown
  • Affiliation(s): Stockton Kings
  • Ownership: Vivek Ranadivé
  • Conference titles: 0
  • Division titles won: 5 (19491952197920022003)
  • Championships won: 2 (NBL: 1(1946), NBA: 1(1951))

“Get more sports news, cricket news, and football updates, log on to Follow us on Facebook or Twitter and Subscribe to our YouTube Channel.”

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More