2021 WBBL: Defending Champions Sydney Thunder register their 1st Win of the season, as they beat Melbourne Stars by 19 Runs

The bowling unit of Sydney Thunder’s defended the low total of 133 runs and handed the team their 1st Win of the 2021 WBBL, as they beat Melbourne Stars by 19 Runs.

The Sydney Thunder vs Melbourne Stars is the 23rd Match of the 2021 WBBL played on Saturday, 30 October 2021 at the University of Tasmania Stadium, Launceston.

The 2021–22 Women’s Big Bash League or WBBL|07 is the seventh season and is being played from 14th October to 27th November 2021 with eight teams and a total of 59 matches.

Sydney Thunder is the defending champions of WBBL but at the start of the 2021–22 season, they were struggling as they didn’t win any matches, until now and are at the bottom of the table.

2021 WBBL – The Line-up for Sydney Thunder vs Melbourne Stars

Sydney Thunder Women won the toss and elected to bat.

Sydney Thunder’s Innings

An early setback for Sydney Thunder as Smriti Mandhana was dismissed in 2.2 overs, they were 9/1. But a slow start for them as after the powerplay, Sydney Thunder were 26/1.

However, Tahlia Wilson takes the charge as boundaries come off from the bat of the 22-year-old. She formed a crucial 81 Runs Partnership with the 18-year-old Phoebe Litchfield.

Phoebe Litchfield just fell short of 1 run to reach her half-century, departed scoring 49 Runs (off 42 balls), as Erin Osborne picked the wicket. At that stage, Sydney Thunder was at 90/2 (13.5 overs).

Then, another wicket falls as Corinne Hall is sent back to the pavilion by Erin Osborne as she picked her 2nd wicket. They were 101/3 (15.5 overs).

However, the last over had two runouts as Deepti Sharma was dismissed, played a cameo of 16 (off 14) and Tahlia Wilson got out at 53 Runs (off 53 balls) – her Maiden WBBL half-century. With that, Sydney Thunder finished their innings at 133/5 (20 overs).

Melbourne Stars needs 134 Runs to win

Chasing a low total, Melbourne Stars had already lost two quick wickets as Captain Meg Lanning and Annabel Sutherland were bowled out by Samantha Bates and Issy Wong respectively. Melbourne Stars was 10/2 (2.6 overs). At the end of the powerplay, they were 32/2.

However, a 59 Run stand between Maia Bouchier & Elyse Villani ended as both lost their respective wickets to an LBW decision. Bates had picked Maia Bouchier’s wicket while Sammy-Jo Johnson sends the opener Elyse Villani – 38 runs (off 31) back to the pavilion. With that Sydney Thunder were back in the game. Melbourne Stars was at 69/4 (11.1 overs).

Then the Indian all-rounder Deepti Sharma strikes for the Sydney Thunder as she picked two wickets in an over, sends back Kim Garth and Erin Osborne. As a result, Melbourne Stars was in great trouble as they were 85/6 in 15.5 overs.

Again, it’s Deepti Sharma as she sends Nicole Faltum walking back after she bowled & caught – with this Melbourne Stars were 98/7 (17.4 overs).

In the last over, Melbourne Stars needed 25 runs. Meanwhile, Captain Hannah Darlington decides to bowl the final over and delivers as she picked a wicket. With that, Melbourne Stars finished their innings at 114/8 (20 overs).

As a result, Sydney Thunder won the match by 19 Runs. Hence, the Player of the Match was given to Samantha Bates for her bowling spell of 2/14.

Subscribe to our newsletter
Get your daily dose of Cricket, Football, Tennis & other favorite sports with handpicked stories delivered directly to your inbox.
You can unsubscribe at any time

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More