England’s ‘Bazball’ tactics under threat from Indian spin attack, warns Vaughan

Ahead of England’s tour to India, Vaughan warns about the peril of facing Ashwin, Jadeja, and Axar Patel for England’s aggressive approach.

Former England captain Michael Vaughan has sounded a cautionary note for the England cricket team ahead of their impending tour to India, expressing doubts about their aggressive playing style, often referred to as ‘Bazball’, holding up against India’s world-class spin duo of Ravichandran Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja.

England, gearing up for the challenging conditions in India, revealed a squad on Monday night, notably comprising four specialist spinners in anticipation of the turning subcontinent pitches.

Vaughan drew attention to Australian spinner Nathan Lyon’s success during the Ashes on English soil, where despite traditionally unfavorable conditions for spinners, Lyon secured nine crucial wickets. He voiced concern that England might struggle when they face India’s formidable spin attack, comprising Ashwin, Jadeja, and Axar Patel.


Vaughan on Lyon’s performance in the Ashes

Speaking to Fox Sports, Vaughan highlighted Lyon’s impact, stating, “The hardest place to play in the world is India… If you actually go back to the Ashes when Nathan Lyon was fit and bowling nicely, Australia were 2-0 up in the series.” He emphasized the significance of Lyon’s performance in England and cautioned about England’s potential challenges against multiple quality spinners in India.

Considering Lyon’s success, Vaughan pointed out, “If you add in Ashwin, Jadeja, and Axar Patel on spinning wickets in India, they may get blown away, they may get absolutely destroyed.” He highlighted England’s intent to play similarly aggressive cricket but warned about the possible repercussions against such an experienced Indian spin trio.

Looking ahead to the forthcoming Tests scheduled from January 25 to March 11, Vaughan expressed skepticism about England’s prospects in India against the spin challenge. The England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) disclosed a 16-member squad for the series on Monday.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More